Black Pepper Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I think this recipe is great! I would have never put ground beef in a chinese dish, but it was good. The first time I followed the recipe the next few times I had to improvise and now I use brown gravy mix in stead of cornstarch, and double the sauce. I also add some chinese hot sauce for more kick. Tonight I used ground turkey and it was really good. I will cook this again! Update-Jan 2012--once again loved this recipe!! Even my son that normally wouldn't look at Cabbage, loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
YUM!! There is nothing like a good kick of ground black pepper in a good old stir-fry, so this really hit the spot for us! I passed on using the veggie oil as the ground beef has plenty of its own grease. I just browned the beef & added the garlic to it a couple minutes before adding the bell pepper & cabbage. I used 1/4 of a onion (sliced) that I had on hand and I would do that again. The cooking time is a little longer than stated but still pretty quick - just stir-fry until your veggies are to your tenderness preference. Everything else was perfect amounts & we enjoyed this dish with steamed jasmine rice and a side of egg drop soup. Thank you for this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Flavourful, easy meal! I've made this dish several times and really like the flavours and all the veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I thought this was very good. I doubled the meat seasoned with a little onion powder, salt and pepper and added cooked rice and garlic in with the meat mixture. I don't like peppers so left that out and it was still tasty. Next time I'm going to substitute elbow mac instead of rice. Great easy meal to make during the week and bring leftovers to work for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This is really good. I used a whole pound of ground beef and used 2 carrots in place of the red pepper. Simple and inexpensive - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I recommend doubling the recipe for a little left over. Also, I put broccoli in it and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
LOVE this recipe! Have cooked it SEVERAL times over the years (this was on of the first things I ever cooked from this site). Always becomes a favorite! Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Great Recipe! The only thing I did differently was use a very finely sliced flat iron steak instead of gb. I roasted a 1.5lb piece of flat iron steak in the oven at 280 for 45 min or until the steak has an internal temp of 135. Let it cool and slice very thin, Add it AFTER the veg and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This dish was really, really good! I doubled the soy sauce, water and cornstarch (my family likes it saucy!). Next time, and there will be many!, I think I'll mix the rice into it before serving. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was very tasty. I did make a couple of changes per the advice of other readers. I did add some Hoisin and some Sesame Oil. This was excellent. My Fiance devoured it. I think I will try it with pork. mmmmmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States