Black Pepper Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This was definitely good, but not wonderful. Certainly easy, with very simple ingredients, but it lacked some flavor that I just can't quite identify. Husband suggested ginger could improve it, but I don't think that alone would elevate this recipe from okay/good to super/delicious. I'll probably experiment with it again, because of its simplicity, but it wasn't what I'd hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Used chicken instead of beef and added a pinch of chicken broth flavor powder at the end. Turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is so good I have made it several times.. My daughter does not like cabbage but tried this and loved it.. So easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This didn't "look" very good - but was actually very tasty! My husband even loved it. Will probably make again.....very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This is good even without the peppers. I didn't have any peppers at home so I made the recipe without them. Added a dash of garlic salt and onion salt. At the end I added ramen noodles and added a little more water. The end result is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I made this with a whole head of cabbage and instead of ground beef, used textured veggie protein mealstarter "crumbles." Really good! I love those things and may never use ground beef in a recipe again! I also used a bit of ginger and some minced onion and vegetable broth instead of water. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I have to join the ranks of those who really like this dish. It was easy, but not that quick (maybe the prep time calculated did not include the time to prep the veggies). My husband is not a fan of pepper, so I reduced the amount of black pepper. I shredded half of a Chinese cabbage, and the amount seemed too much for the ground beef, so I doubled the meat, and the proportion seemed perfect. Next time (and there will be a next time) I will put the red pepper strips in a little earlier. My daughter didn't try the food yet, but I expect a high rating from her as well... Thanks for a tasty recipe for a vegetable that I have rarely cooked before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This caught my eye so last night I had a lb of ground beef thawed and decided to make this. I did double the sauce and cut back on the oil, but this was very, very good, easy and budget friendly. I think I will use some chili oil next time as we like some kick, but will make this again often. I like the fact that you can change it up based upon what you have in the fridge. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vista, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is one of the best Chinese recipes I have ever made--simple and delicious. It tastes more like meals I have gotten in Chinatown in Philadelphia than at your more typical "Chinese" buffet. I think the quality of the ingredients makes a big difference in this recipe--I used ground grass-fed beef, and this dish really showcased the depth of flavor of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was okay. My husband liked it. Someone else mentioned that they didn't like ground beef in a stir fry. Make only if you really like cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 301) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States