Black Pepper Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This just needed something. It was good and easy to make and a meal right up my alley, but just lacked flavor. I used ground chicken and a couple of hot italian sausage (crumbled out of its casing) instead of beef. Loved the caggage in it. Needed extra soy sauce. Added corn and used beef broth instead of water. Will prob make again, but will amp up the seasoning and try it with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I had high hopes for this, but it was really pretty bad. I'm not a novice cook, and followed the directions explicitly, but this was barely edible. not much flavor, and certainly not a "Chinese" stir-fry. Save all the good ingredients for something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This recipe is easy, but totally bland as written. You'll notice that almost every reviewer who gave this dish 4 stars or higher made a ton of modifications. I salvaged the meal with some Sriracha sauce, but in the future I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
We really liked this. It was different though... I didn't really think of it as a stir fry, but whatever you call it, it's good! Cheap to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was a decent weeknight meal that came together quickly. I used sirloin strips instead of ground beef and added some rice wine vinegar to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Great... I doubled the recipe, instead of ground beef, I used venison in thin strips,added bean sprouts, onions, a bit more soy, beef boullion and a splash of sesame oil. Surprisingly good. Will make again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Made as written except I added onions and yellow peppers. Also added beef bouilion to the water/cornstarch mixture. It was okay. Nothing spectacular. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lady t

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Delicious dish. Wasn't sure about the ground beef but the texture and flavor were wonderful. I used red and orange peppers and beef broth rather than water. Loved the cabbage. I adjusted the soy sauce amount to taste (used slightly more). The black pepper gave it a kick but I wouldn't recommend cutting the amount. This dish was even better warmed up the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Made just as stated, family loved it. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Nice, easy dish to make. I served it over Jasmine rice and topped with Sriracha hot sauce (it was a little bland but I like spicy food- get your hot sauce out if you are like me). Next time, I'll try a little sesame oil and maybe some Oyster sauce or the spiciness of fresh ginger might be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States