Black Pepper Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I really liked this dish, it is quick and tasty. I did, however, make the ground beef in another pan making sure there were large chunks of meat, then I added it to the pepper and cabbage mixture and gently stirred it in making sure not to break the meat up too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rudysfavorites

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Yum! Doubled the recipe - did not use the cornstarch. This is a good base recipe. You do need to ADD some additional seasonings - like ginger, chinese allspice, paprika, etc. Also, don't be afraid to add more cabbage, mushrooms, etc. This turned out great for us and makes a ton. Will make again and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Was not a tasty dish. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
We thought this recipe was pretty good, not spectacular but all right. Since I all ready had to defrost a pound of ground beef I went on ahead and used the whole pound and a whole head of the cabbage. I doubled the water and cornstarch mixture too, but didn't want the soy sauce to overwhelm the dish so I left that at the 2T. Turned out much more filling than I thought it would and we have plenty leftover for the next couple of days. The prep time does take longer than the 15 minutes stated, but it's still pretty easy to prepare. I thought this would have more flavor than it did, but still tasted good. Not sure if I would make again, but it does make for a very easy dinner that doesn't take a whole lot of time. Thanks for the recipe, LI-ANN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Did the recipe as directions said but added fresh mushrooms and sweet onion. Family said it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Absolutely loved this Recipe. It was restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I prepared this in my wok. I salted and browned the ground beef first, removed it, and poured off the oil. I added half a chopped onion to the recipe and stir fried until softened. After the onions were softened, I added in the garlic and about a teaspoon of fresh grated ginger. I like black pepper so I used 1 ½ teaspoons of coarse ground pepper. Then I added the cabbage and stir fried it for 3-4 minutes. I added in two tablespoons of water and the soy sauce, lowered the heat and covered the wok to let the cabbage steam to soften it to al dente, about 3 minutes. I placed the ground beef back into the wok and tossed it with the other ingredients. I didn't have a fresh red bell pepper so I used jarred and added those in after the ground beef, tossing just to mix them in. I omitted the cornstarch and ½ cup of water completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I think this would have been better if I had a wok to cook it in. And next time I would add some chopped ginger or ground ginger powder. It needed some flavor. I plan to make again and tweak according to our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I doubled this recipe and cheated a little bit. Instead of shredding a cabbage (I'm lazy and have no interest in shredding a cabbage myself), I used a bag of cole slaw cabbage mix. I also used a green pepper instead of red. Overall, I think this was a decent recipe. I think it could have used more black pepper. Since it's in the title of the recipe, I expected it to stand out more than it actually did. I also didn't think there was enough soy sauce. If making it again, I'd use a lot more of that and less water. The ground beef does give it a different flavor/texture and it probably would be better with some sort of beef strips. But for economics sake, the ground beef was fine. I would make this again, with the few changes I mentioned. It was cheap and easy and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States