Black Pepper Beef and Cabbage Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
If you've got hamburger to use up and you're in the mood for stir fry this will work. I see reviews saying they're adding a lot more salt. Remember soy sauce has a LOT of salt in it...even the low sodium version so be careful if you have high blood pressure. If you're looking for more of an Asian flavor add a little hoisin sauce or oyster sauce (which also has a lot of salt). Adding thick sliced onion to the veggies adds great flavor too. A lot of different left over fresh veggies could be thrown in here...onion, celery, thinly sliced carrot, bok choy instead of reg cabbage...whatever you've got to use up. As the recipe stands it's tasty but just not big on Asian flavor. Oh...I drained off some of the hamburger fat that clogs your arteries too before I added the veggies. Most hamburger is at least 20% fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
If you're looking for a quick and tasty meal, this is it! I was pleasantly surprised by how delicious this was, and my husband has deemed it regular-rotation-worthy. I made the following tweaks, in case this inspires anyone: Used black garlic instead of white garlic (gives it a sweet smoky kick), added two teaspoons of vinegar for a little bit more acidity, and added some oyster sauce as well as soy sauce. We absolutely loved the cabbage and pepper, it almost tasted like a deconstructed hamburger stir fry somehow. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I tried this recipe yesterday, and the results were AMAZING!!! I tweaked a few things though - I first boiled the ground beef in some water to make it easier to cook. I also used one large red onion together with the garlic, grated 3 carrots and mixed them with the cabbage, and seasoned the dish with salt, garam masala, and ground coriander (In addition to the black pepper). My first attempt at this, and I LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
The only thing I can taste is salty ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
It was a good combination of ingredients and pretty quick and easy to make. However, I made it exactly to the recipe and to be honest it was a bit boring. I would have enjoyed it a bit more with some more interesting flavors. It did all get eaten so it wasn't a bad recipe, just not very exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I have looked at this recipe several times and was a little unsure whether or not to make it but decided finally to give it a try tonight. I had to double the recipe for my big family. I did make some changes for flavoring based on some other reviews. I fried the ground beef with 2 cloves of minced garlic, salt and onion powder before removing from the pan, I discarded some of the oil from the ground beef but saved the remaining to fry the cabbage in. I also added, shredded carrots, sliced red onion and I only had frozen cut up green pepper so I used that too. After the veggies were tender crisp I put the ground beef back in the pot along with the soy sauce. To make the sauce better I used one cup of beef broth, 1 big teaspoon of beef bouillon and 2 teaspoons of cornstarch mixed together. This mixture made a good sauce the thickened up nicely and gave it loads of flavor. Great basic recipe that can be adapted to fit what you have on hand. This will go in my regular rotation as the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FlavourIsUs
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I ended up using thinly sliced beef cubes rather than ground beef; half the amount of bell pepper; some red cabbage rather than green; and some crushed red pepper flakes for a bit of added flavour. This was ready in 20 minutes as stated and tasted great! Definitely looking forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is a great low carb meal. I double the meat and leave out the cornstarch. Family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jazzy
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
I used angus beef cut into strips instead of brown beef. I doubled the recipe except the cabbage and added half an onion and a whole green and yellow bell pepper. Also added a bullion cube to the water. This is so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I was hesitant when I made this recipe for my 10 year old daughter--she isn't picky but...cabbage? She took a bite, said "this is great" and tucked into a huge portion. She then came back for seconds and took it to school in a thermos the next day. A true success. I did add some minced ginger to the meat and some scallions to the vegetables, to enhance the Asian feel, but nothing else was needed. Really good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States