Black Olive Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I used this in my "eggplant and pepper parmesan" sandwiches. It turned out great! Since the market I went to was actually out of canned olives, I got some Turkish olives from the deli. I had to make this in my blender, and so I had to use more oil than indicated. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I used vegan "parmesan cheese" and added a little salt and vinegar, and perhaps too much extra oil. This is so yummy! It really needs a small garnishing sprig and a sprinkle of paprika or something to offset the olive color and its tendency to seperate from the oil. This is a wonderful dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This was a very quick and very tasty recipe. I also used this spread on the Eggplant and Pepper sandwhiches listed on this site... they were AWESOME! I believe you're supposed to use the liquid from the can of olives but I had already drained the olives before I realized that. So I added water to replace the liquid and it still came out quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Fabulous!! I added 1 green onion and seasoned it with salt and pepper. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
This worked out great on the wonderful Eggplant and Pepper Parmesan Sandwiches as suggested by a previous reviewer. Used instead of the tapenade, and because I used just regular black olives (like Lindsay) it was far less salty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This recipe is GREAT! I used a 6oz can of Lindsay olives but the same amount of everything else. Delicious on a tortialla rolled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Excellent. Just like the restaurant. Will make this one again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARNESTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
Great tasting and so easy! I use whatever canned black olives are cheapest and up the garlic to 2-3 cloves (I like garlic). Great on "eggplant and pepper parm" sandwiches, as other reviewers have said. I also tried some on the "portobello sandwich" from this site, and I liked it in place of the seasoned mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
so simple and yummy. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats that Burning smell?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
If you like olives, olive oil and garlic you CANNOT go wrong. Served this with wine and crackers and yummo! Fast and easy in my mini food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States