Black Olive Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This recipe was great by itself, but when I added an 8 oz package of cream cheese and served it with honey wheat pretzel twists and black bread toast points, it was gobbled up by all of the guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This was a very quick and very tasty recipe. I also used this spread on the Eggplant and Pepper sandwhiches listed on this site... they were AWESOME! I believe you're supposed to use the liquid from the can of olives but I had already drained the olives before I realized that. So I added water to replace the liquid and it still came out quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I put in too much garlic so it came out bitter, but overall it was good and I'm sure it had potential to be better if it were not for the extra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
I read the first review and just made this without draining the can of olives (probably would have otherwise) and it turned out very runny, definitely not a spread, we will have to try using it as a dip instead. It looks like an olive smoothy! I tried a bit, it tastes okay, but too salty for my taste, maybe wouldn't have been so salty if drained and rinsed olives first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nobel, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I used this in my "eggplant and pepper parmesan" sandwiches. It turned out great! Since the market I went to was actually out of canned olives, I got some Turkish olives from the deli. I had to make this in my blender, and so I had to use more oil than indicated. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Fabulous!! I added 1 green onion and seasoned it with salt and pepper. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Excellent, loved it made it for New Years bowl party, took some suggestions and added green onions. Think it would be better with Scoops style tortillia chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rileysdad1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
A good start but really watery. I'm not sure if you are supposed to drain the cans or not. Perhaps ok for a sandwich but on a cracker alone, not so much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
VERY good with items in your pantry! I did one batch with one clove (for a party) and one batch with two (used my mini processor). Loved the two-clove batch, but the one clove batch is better for friends. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I used vegan "parmesan cheese" and added a little salt and vinegar, and perhaps too much extra oil. This is so yummy! It really needs a small garnishing sprig and a sprinkle of paprika or something to offset the olive color and its tendency to seperate from the oil. This is a wonderful dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Fruit Dip II

A light, fluffy, super-easy dip with cream cheese and marshmallow crème.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States