Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Best ever! Will be my new chocolate cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Never going back to a box again! I have never had much success with homemade, they were either dry or too dense. This recipe is PHENOMENAL! Deep, rich chocolatey flavor, almost fudgy. Light and fluffy and so moist, not dense at all. I followed the recipe to a T except I added about 2 tblsp extra cocoa (I ran out of the good stuff and was trying to compensate). I made cupcakes, 24 exactly, cooked for 18 minutes (I also only baked one pan at a time). A couple of tips: I used cupcake liners but next time will ALSO add cooking spray. (they were so moist, when I used a small knife around the edge to loosen, I destroyed a few). You must know these are SO delicate! I'm not sure how people are doing layers and decorating for bdays, I barely survived cupcakes! The cocoa I used was 1/2 c Ghiradelli and 1/4 c Hershey. Will use all Ghiradelli next time Do not overbake If your cupcakes runneth over, quickly & gently take a paring knife around the edges to loosen while warm, put on a rack to cool I had no problems with them running over and out of my pans at all. I filled my cupcakes up about 2/3 of the way. They do not "mound" on the top but they also did not fall in the center when cooled. Sort of just perfectly flat on top. Needless to say I wouldn't change a thing. May make some homemade caramel to drizzle over the top with a sprinkling of sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
LOVED it! This cake is the best chocolate cake recipe that I have ever tried. My daughter said it was "awesome". I made this exactly as written except that I halved the recipe and made a single layer cake in a 11" X 7" pan. This cake was so moist. I made the One Minute Chocolate Icing from this website and it was a good compliment. That icing is very fudge-like. YUM! This will be my "go to" chocolate cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I have been wanting to try this recipe for years, but I never have buttermilk on hand. I had some leftover from making Irish soda bread, so I was excited, but the end result was just...meh. I had no problem baking it or having it stick and it looked really good, but it has a very strange texture to it, not really sure how to describe it. The photos of this cake is why I wanted to try it, it just looks so dark and chocolaty, but all I could taste was coffee. I didn't even use a strong brewed coffee. I guess it depends on the brand/strength of coffee, but I used a popular brand. The pudding icing I made for it from this site was fabulous though. I recommend the one-bowl chocolate cake III and the crazy cake from this site, those are my usual go-to recipes and are both very chocolaty. Will not make this one again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
A pretty good recipe I didn't really get the chocolate in the cake some what disappointed but overall pretty good I still like the boiling water better then the coffee .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Amazing. Don't really need icing. Truly the best chocolate cake I have had. Easy to make. Followed the recipe exactly. Cooked for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I followed the recipe step by step. Used 2-9" round cake pans. Ten minutes into baking, they began to grow & grow & grow. Overcooked out of the pans onto the bottom of the oven, smoke & burn. Dont know what went wrong but OMG what a mess! Ok, I've made this 5 times and it "grows" out of the pan everytime! I only use Hershey's cocoa, same process each time and always ends up a mess. I get half a cake-its good-but such a waste. HELP!! Any suggestions--anybody??????????????????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
A-mazing!! Loved, loved, loved this cake. So moist!! I used Hershey's Special Dark cocoa and I I made Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting for the top, and it was gone! Will DEFINITELY make this over and over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I made this twice my family loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This was pretty much perfect as is. Made as written with chocolate buttercream frosting and a layer of fudge and pecans in the middle and it was wonderful. I didn't have any problems with it falling apart, although I could see that happening if it stuck even a little to the pans - it's a really soft, fluffy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States