Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I've made this cake four times in less than two weeks! IT'S *THAT* GOOD. I substitute 1/2 cup of sour cream for the 1/2 cup oil (adding 1/4 tsp baking soda to the dry ingredients), and I substitute milk + vinegar for the buttermilk. I've also found that using espresso roast coffee makes is especially awesome. frosting/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I made this cake for a friend's birthday and it had everyone raving and asking for seconds! It was fairly dark-chocolatey and not too sweet at all. I frosted it with an oreo buttercream icing which added that punch of sugar for those with a sweet tooth! Perfect recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I made a 3 layer cake using this recipe and baked the layers for 23 minutes. It was somewhat crumbly, but had outstanding flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Wonderful, melt in your mouth chocolate cake - made into cupcakes - 21 minutes at 350 degrees - perfect texture and moist! Topped with Satiny Chocolate Glaze - Lovely with a glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
"The best cake we've had since moving to Azerbaijan", said my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
My wife loves this so much that she made it her official birthday cake and requests it every year. I make a dark chocolate ganache for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I've made this many times and Black Magic cake is now a birthday tradition for my family. You couldn't ask for a more moist chocolate cake recipe than this. Goodbye box cake mixes; I won't miss you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This recipe was great, one bowl, all ingredients go in and super easy! Tastes divine. Always moist, rich and makes a lovely thick cake, cheaper, easier and much better tasting than a box cake! This is fool proof
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
This cake was rich and delicious! Delectable for chocolate lovers like my family. I hate to say anything bad about it, except the batter totally over flowed my 2 9-inch round pans! I should have known better, since the recipe made a lot of batter, but only a few minutes through, I ended up putting a cookie sheet underneath the pans. The cake was a mess! But a tasty mess! The only thing I was advise is leave enough room for the cake to grow. I think I'm going to make it tomorrow when I have some of my old buds come over, I'll just use a big pan :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,716) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States