Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Seriously, this is the BEST chocolate cake I've ever made! I multiplied the recipe by 1.5 because I was making a cake for Easter but also wanted to make just a few cupcakes. It made 2 round layers and 12 cupcakes. I baked the cupcakes for 22 minutes but the could have cooked just a couple more minutes. Next time I'll set the timer for 25 minutes. I didn't have buttermilk, so I put about a tablespoon (maybe a little more) of white vinegar in my Pyrex glass measuring cup then filled it to the 1.5 cup mark with milk. I let the vinegar/milk mixture sit while I mixed the dry ingredients. Worked like a charm! This will be my new go-to chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Super moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
This came out great! I used it as the bottom layer for an ice cream cake (I made a half batch) and it was perfect. Delicious cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I'm making this cake recipe for the second time today...it's THAT good! Pairing it with the French Silk Frosting recipe from this site, it's the perfect combination for a sensational cake. Reminiscent of my mothers oh-so-delicious French Silk Pie I grew up with, I'm hoping this Black Magic Cake with French Silk frosting will win first place at a cake baking competition at my church. All in the spirit of good fun. Wish me luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rowan Kiraly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I have made this cake a couple times for special occasions, and it's fantastic. The coffee really takes it to another level. I finish it with a simple peanut butter cream cheese icing for the perfect sweet and salty combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This is truly the best recipe I've ever used! Got rid of all other Choc cake recipes! Truly moist and absolutely devine! Best in New Zealand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time for my husbands 5oth birthday party. It was the best chocolate cake that I have ever had. Everybody wanted to know where I got this recipe from. My sons birthday is 9 days from now, He requested this cake be made again but wants some chocolate chunks in it. The frosting I used was the cool whip and vanilla pudding frosting. Just delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I've made this cake several times, it's my go-to recipe. It freezes great!! This cake is so moist and light tasting, it really is incredible. I make mine into a 9", 2 layer. I also make my frosting out of skim milk, fat free chocolate pudding, icing sugar and light Cool Whip.....OMG...it's to die for. This chocolate cake with my frosting makes for the BEST CHOCOLATE CAKE EVER!!! 5+ Stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AfiqahAzmee
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Its a bit runny, but believe the recipe. It turns out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Best ever! Will be my new chocolate cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States