Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Omg this cake is fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly except for the buttermilk. I didn't have buttermilk so put 1 Tbs white vinegar in 1 cup (minus 1 Tbs) of 1% milk. All the rave reviews on this cake were spot on. I will make this cake over and over. It was so easy to make too. Like another reviewer said, you only need a whisk for this batter. I tried to use my kitchenaid stand mixer and the batter was so thin that it went everywhere. Still, the mess was completely worth it. Amazing cake! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abower1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Deadly cake sooooo stinking good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yaneth Gray
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I love this recipe! This is the first time that I do a cake from scratch. So I called my mom, the baker in or family, to give me some pointers. So we switched the oil for butter. Then we mixed the eggs, vanilla, sugar and butter together for 6 minutes before adding any dry intrusions. it turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I didn't have vegetable oil, so I subbed melted extra virgin coconut oil but otherwise followed the recipe. The top kind of collapsed and looked funny, but it was cooked through and it tastes absolutely delicious. I frosted it with Chocolate Coffee Buttercream Icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wacker Strange

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This classic, decades-old recipe is my favorite cake in the universe. One note, though...due to the chemical composition of this cake, the batter rises A LOT when baking. When making small forms like mini-bundt cakes, fill the forms no more than halfway or the batter will expand and spill all over your stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Used Dark Chocolate Cocoa and it was one step better than awesome!! I figured it was time to stop eating the cake long enough to thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammie Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
One of the best chocolate cakes I've ever had! Great texture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
deep rich chocolate, moist, good flavor with the strong coffee added. used raspberries in the middle layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Sally mulumba
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This was the first time that I EVER made a cake from scratch! I was really nervous going in, but ultimately was blown away by how easy it was… and how tasty the final product is! Word to the wise-- The batter, before baking, is VERY thin. Don't be alarmed!! It will bake up into a wonderfully fluffy, decadent chocolate cake. This cake is quite airy and fluffy--- if you're looking for a more dense, hearty cake this recipe is not for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamboden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States