Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is absolutely my favorite chocolate cake EVER. No need to find another recipe - this is the one. The reviews where people have said that the cake fell (they undercooked it) or it overflowed the pans (they misread the instructions!) are just absurd. I don't know how anyone can screw up this cake. I have taken it to work twice, and people just rave about it. I have made it in a bundt pan, and as a 9x13 cake. For the first I used a chocolate ganache frosting, and the other I used the French Silk frosting on it - both are yummy, but I really prefer the French Silk frosting - which is kind of a buttercream frosting. Really really good cake...d@mn hard to beat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
The perfect and the best chocolate recipe ever! I must have made this cake more than a thirty times! They turn out well even as cupcakes! It's moist, right sweet taste, chocolaty with a pinch of coffee, soft... And just so fabulocious!! It's just the best chocolate cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amrutha
Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
My husband makes this for me and it is the best chocolate cake I've ever eaten... And it is delicious with mocha frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Made this as a 2-layer cake with a strawberry jam filling and thin chocolate icing. It was absolutely wonderful! I did use parchment paper at the bottom of the pans and had no issues getting the cakes out of the pans. Super-dark and moist. I would not want a heavy icing with this cake, or it would be overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scubadoc
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Awesome recipe! I made it, let it proper cool out and then put it in the fridge. No additional frosting. My family but I'm too are very happy that I'v found a way to make this cake by myself. It taste much better than buying a ready mix from the Supermarket. I also uploaded a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scubadoc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montego Bay, Saint James, Jamaica
Photo by lita lee
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Bakes up very dark, somewhat dense, and very chocolate, just the way I like it. Mine fell a little in the center so I quickly put it back in the oven for another 7 minutes. Had to level the layers, but no big deal because it was delish! Didn't do the toothpick test which could have prevented falling, and maybe beat it a little too long (?) Tastes and looks so good, would definitely make it again. Made a 2 layer chocolate mint birthday cake with 1 minute chocolate icing recipe from this site and green peppermint buttercream and junior mint garnish. Making this this chocolate cake recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dee101590
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This cake was amazing! It's easy very easy to make. I only change one thhing and that was substitute one stick of butter for the veggie oil. You do have let it bake the whole 40 minutes for the toothpick to come out clean. I also let it chill in the freezer for 20 minutes to make it easier to icing. I used a chocolate buttercream icing for the frosting and it taste amazing. This cake is moist and rich in flavor, my family loves it! I can't wait to try using cherry liquer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dee101590
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I've been making this exact recipe for more than 50 years - I got the recipe from my MOTHER! It's been a favorite of my family for all these years. Best chocolate cake I've ever eaten. It's even great with no icing and a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This cake recipe was originally posted on the Hershey's website where I printed it off more than 16 years ago. The website no longer exists but thank God the recipe still does. I have encased mine in a protective plastic cover because it is the most used recipe in the house. I have to make it for every birthday (6). The secret is to only bake it for 33 minutes if you are using round pans. Anything more than that and it will be dry. Allow to cool completely before removing from pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is the first time I baked such a lovely cake. Thank you for sharing the recipe. I made some changes, I reduced the sugar, only used 1 cup of sugar and still tastes good. Instead of using buttermilk, I used milk and Greek yoghurt mixture. I replaced hot chocolate instead of coffee. I will definitely bake it again. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States