Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
The first time I used a 9x13 pan and it sunk so badly in the middle that it took up two inches of frosting to cover the indention. The second time I used two 9-inch round pans and the batter overflowed, burnt to a char on the bottom of the oven and filled the kitchen with smoke. This last time I used two large square pans. The cake didn't overflow, but it still sunk in the middle to half the height of the sides. When I tried to invert the pans onto a cooling rack a third of the cake was still stuck to the bottom of the pans. I followed the recipe to the letter, including using only Hershey's cocoa. I'm curious how other people seemed to get such good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I did this cake for the second time yesterday and it came out perfect like the first time. I never had any cake that moist, the taste is spectacular and it is just fantastic. It doesn't really need frosting, I would love it with some berries and fresh whipped cream or icecream. I love this cake and i really think it is the best i ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abeeryassin
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Best cake ever ! So easy soooo delicious ! Perfect as is , changed nothing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jocelyn68
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This was the best chocolate cake I have ever had. It is dense and so flavorful. I paired it with a Mint icing. Excuse the mess on the plate but I am not a pro and well... this is how I roll. LOL Highly recommend this recipe to anyone who loves chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyntir
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I hate following recipes as i always add a little twist of my own. I followed this one to the letter and the cake is amazing....... thank you!! I need help on frosting, though. haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I loved this cake! It turned out really moist and delicious! I added sour cream to help it be moist, and i plan to use ganache as my filling. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Love this cake - just as is. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Wonderful dark chocolate cake... Moist and rich just as advertised.. I loved it... I used a Hershey's chocolate icing recipe that comes on the can.. It was wonderful... So rich, I couldn't even overindulge like I many times do... Had to put that last bite down and save it for later... Great cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by King Stephon Hayden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Almost everyone had seconds. Dark, rich tasting, and flavourful. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Best chocolate cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States