Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This cake is amazing as is, but just for funsies I replaced the coffee with 1/4 cup Kahlua, 1/4 vanilla vodka, and 1/4 Baileys Irish cream. It was truly to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Delicious Cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Absolutely a keeper! This is very similar to a recipe my friend (who bakes cakes for a living) gave me, and it comes out perfectly each time! One tip: use the best quality cocoa you can find. I found European cocoa powder and bought a huge tub at Costco - perfect and so delicious! I'm actually baking another cake right now, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Sopt

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is SO GOOD. Deep chocolate flavor (I replaced two teaspoons of the coffee with chocolate extract that I received for my birthday). It was so delicious. I made a batch of cupcakes to test the recipe for an upcoming birthday party. Someone else said they made cupcakes and baked at 350 for 22 minutes - that worked perfectly for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcorbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I made this for my chocolate-loving hubby's birthday. Perfectly moist and with a spot-on texture, this will be my go-to chocolate cake from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Amazing balance of flavors. I highly recommend this recipe for any chocoholic like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
The first time I used a 9x13 pan and it sunk so badly in the middle that it took up two inches of frosting to cover the indention. The second time I used two 9-inch round pans and the batter overflowed, burnt to a char on the bottom of the oven and filled the kitchen with smoke. This last time I used two large square pans. The cake didn't overflow, but it still sunk in the middle to half the height of the sides. When I tried to invert the pans onto a cooling rack a third of the cake was still stuck to the bottom of the pans. I followed the recipe to the letter, including using only Hershey's cocoa. I'm curious how other people seemed to get such good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I did this cake for the second time yesterday and it came out perfect like the first time. I never had any cake that moist, the taste is spectacular and it is just fantastic. It doesn't really need frosting, I would love it with some berries and fresh whipped cream or icecream. I love this cake and i really think it is the best i ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abeeryassin
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Best cake ever ! So easy soooo delicious ! Perfect as is , changed nothing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jocelyn68
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This was the best chocolate cake I have ever had. It is dense and so flavorful. I paired it with a Mint icing. Excuse the mess on the plate but I am not a pro and well... this is how I roll. LOL Highly recommend this recipe to anyone who loves chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States