Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is an excellent cake. A good from scratch cake that I have never had fail. I would suggest, if it's to your liking, to use an espresso for the coffee and Kahlua in place of the vanilla. To the one with the meh ratings, and they are all over the internet, you never like anything. I ignore your ratings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Ok you got me on this one its GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
OMG! The best chocolate cake ever!! Moist heavenly deliciousness to put it simply. The 9" cake was devoured by my family of 7 within minutes. I made my own buttermilk by adding vinegar to whole milk. The batter was thin but the cake was perfectly baked in 30 mins. Keep an eye because any more than just baked would compromise the moistness (OMG!!) of the cake.I kept it for a day in the fridge, covered and I thought the chocolate flavor became deeper the next day (tasted crumbs!!). Topped it with a lovely condensed milk ganache from another website. Got rave reviews from the family. My go to chocolate cake from now on...and so easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Amazing!!! I questioned the coffee. I added three tablespoons of instant coffee to a measuring cup, then filled it with water to the correct amount. It came out wonderful. I thought the coffee might have been too much, but it was perfect. My son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEM2K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I accidentally left out the vanilla and this cake still turned out magnificently! It was moist and rich but not too sweet. I made a layer cake with whipped ganache frosting and a raspberry filling and my coworkers were raving about it. This is definitely a keeper. It was a little difficult to frost because it was so sticky and a little crumbly, but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisaonastick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Not chocolatey. Dry. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I made my own buttermilk by sitting 1 cup soymilk and 1 T vinegar for about 10 minutes. 'Baked for the complete 40 minutes. I made this for a group of grown boys who love dessert and they just couldn't stop raving about how moist and perfect the cake turned out. We ate the cake plain with ice-cream. The next day the cake is just as moist and delicious. It has brought me back to my childhood devil's food cake-out-of-a-box eating days. Well, those days are over and they are better now! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Yup, this cake is the bomb! Cakes have never been my specialty, but this one is so easy to throw together and is it moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Best chocolate cake ever. I used almond cake filling and buttercream frosting. So yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I really thought I would like this cake, especially with all the good reviews. However, I made it twice, in case I had done something wrong the first time and was severely disappointed both times. I expected it to be sweeter, but instead I found it to be fairly bitter. I modified it the third time, since I didnt want a completely different cake for the bottom layer of my first tier, and it was a bit better, but still not what I had hoped for. I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValerieAnne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,601) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States