Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is the first time I baked such a lovely cake. Thank you for sharing the recipe. I made some changes, I reduced the sugar, only used 1 cup of sugar and still tastes good. Instead of using buttermilk, I used milk and Greek yoghurt mixture. I replaced hot chocolate instead of coffee. I will definitely bake it again. Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This recipe is the absolute best chocolate I've ever made, it is moist and has just the right amount of chocolate. This is definitely a keepsake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
it is important to use a good cocoa in this recipe, not the chemically separated standard grocery shelf . I replaced the buttermilk with greek yoghurt (cut with a drop of milk) one the second batch and this was a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
This was awesome! I halved the recipe and baked in a square pan. I subbed applesauce for just a little of the oil. Still delish after 4 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Wasn't great. Disappointing even. Kids didn't like it at all which surprised me as they love cakes. Maybe the coffee taste put them off, I could
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
The best deep chocolate cake I have ever eaten. Does not taste like coffee nor buttermilk. Made as a bundt cake. 40 min. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This recipe was such a huge hit. I made it for my fiance's family (they don't LOVE desserts like I do) and they ALL raved!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzy730

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Best chocolate cake. I bake this cake for every big family gathering and there isn't any left. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Seriously, this is the BEST chocolate cake I've ever made! I multiplied the recipe by 1.5 because I was making a cake for Easter but also wanted to make just a few cupcakes. It made 2 round layers and 12 cupcakes. I baked the cupcakes for 22 minutes but the could have cooked just a couple more minutes. Next time I'll set the timer for 25 minutes. I didn't have buttermilk, so I put about a tablespoon (maybe a little more) of white vinegar in my Pyrex glass measuring cup then filled it to the 1.5 cup mark with milk. I let the vinegar/milk mixture sit while I mixed the dry ingredients. Worked like a charm! This will be my new go-to chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Super moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,645) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States