Black Magic Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by rashna
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Truly dark moisty and full of magic. A full proof recipe for chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Amazing - I've gotten nothing but compliments. In fact, my Mother-In-Law loved this so much, she is replacing her regular go-to cake recipe with this one. I made mine in an 11x15 baking dish, and used a simple chocolate icing on it. Loved it and am definitely making it again. I would make it right now but I ran out of cocoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This recipe is great! But I prefer the German Chocolate Cake Try it out http://bestofmums.com/healthy-and-tasty/german-chocolate-cake-recipe/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Great chocolate favor, a wonderful replacement for boxed devils food cake! Moist and delicious... you don't even need icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Hands down, the best chocolate cake I've ever made. I buttered the pans, lined with parchment paper and then buttered the parchment paper. The cakes slid out perfectly. I topped with Chocolate Ganache for a decadent Valentines Day dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
I made this non-dairy with one simple substitution: one tablespoon of cider vinegar (although white vinegar also works) plus enough non-dairy milk (I used rice milk) to add up to a cup of liquid. Then you let it sit for 5 minutes, stir, and use just like the buttermilk. I frosted it with frosting from earth balance, cocoa, and powdered sugar. It was a HUGE hit at my meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
I used self rising flour, decreased the amount of baking soda and increased the amount of vanilla. My guests opinion were that the cake was tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I bake cakes a few times a week, every week. I've tried so many different chocolate cake recipes and I always come back to this one. It's super easy, moist, great texture, deep dark chocolate flavor and just plain delicious. I highly recommend this recipe. This is so easy to throw this recipe together,it will not take much longer than if you used a cake mix. Seriously.....and you don't even need a mixer. I just use a large bowl and a whisk. The batter will seem super thin but don't worry, that is what it's supposed to be like. It will bake up nice and fluffy. It is a very dark chocolate flavor but it's still sweet, not bitter at all. Don't hesitate about adding coffee, you won't taste a coffee flavor at all. It just intensifies the chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This is the best chocolate cake I've ever had. Previously my go to was the Hershey's cocoa powder cake. This cake is much less dense and has a richer taste. Kind of reminiscent of a brownie. I used my fave Duncan donuts coffee grounds for the coffee and topped with marshmallow buttercream (that I use in whoopie pies). Also super quick as I throw everything in my stand mixer. Marshmallow cream-1 stick butter unsalted (I use salted) 1 2/3 c confectioners sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 2 c marshmallow cream (fluff)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CalmlyUnaware
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Flawless! I get so many compliments whenever I make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,691) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States