Black Hills Golden Egg Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Great recipe! Everyone at the brunch loved it! I followed the recipe, except instead of frying up bacon I just used those Kirkland Crumbled Bacon. I cooking time was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I made this recipe as written the first time around ... excellent! I omitted the olives the second time around ... still superb! I then got creative and used broccoli and onion instead of mushrooms, green pepper, and olives ... awesome! This basic recipe tastes wonderful and allows you to change up the veggies added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latty72
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Thanks to the guy I met in Austin at Whole Foods, I tried this recipe today. It was excellent! I am not a chef but an excellent cook and give this a huge thumbs up! I made a few changes. I did not use green pepper but marinated red pepper. I omitted the olives. I added 1 tsp of sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Delicious! I omitted the green pepper and threw some onions in the butter and onion mixture for a little extra flavor. This worked well. I think I may 25 minutes may have been a tad too long. Next time I might check it at 20 minutes for done-ness. Outstanding! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tisha Parrott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Kansas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Made this for a church brunch. Time saver-cook the sausage and bacon at the same time in same skillet. Cut the bacon up in pieces before you put it all in the skillet. I used chorizo instead or sausage and green chilis instead or bell pepper. All comments were positive, I will make this one again. I actually made it the night before and put the dish in the fridge to save time the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Made it for church everyone loved it did find that the prep time actually took me about 45 mins tho... I had three pans going on the stove at one time one for sausage, one for bacon and one for veggies... started at 7am didn't get completely done till 9:30
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Collar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
My new favorite breakfast casserole! Tons of flavor, great consistency. Husband loved it. Instead of green peppers and mushrooms I used onions, garlic, and broccoli (still sauted in butter). Prep time was a little longer than recipe suggested. I would recomend covering at least part of the time as mine got a little too brown and that part didn't taste as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is a really great base for an Egg Bake recipe. I used the base recipe, but made a Mexican style bake with spicy sausage, red bell pepper, onion, mushroom, diced green chilies, and served with salsa. Loved the texture with the cottage cheese. I will use this recipe with different variations again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiLynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Got rave reviews at Easter brunch. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
It is rare for a one-dish dinner to work for us. I don't like meat, my husband does. I only put the sausage and mushrooms on his side, which worked fine. He said it tasted like a tasty omelet. As someone else said in below reviews, it is similar to a quiche. I had a similar dish at a bed and breakfast in Ainsworth, NE and thought it was delicious then. The ingredients added plenty of salt so next time I won't add salt. I added pepper and some spices. Quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States