Black Friday Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Excellent. This is a keeper for me! I used my own stuffing, not boxed. That was the only change I made. I had made plenty of home-made stuffing and needed to use it up. It serves 4 as listed. I served it with some hot rolls and cranberry sauce on the side. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Very good! I added a big scoop of whole berry cranberry sauce on top of my serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I doubled the recipe in a 13x9 pan, and everyone liked it. I used stuffing, turkey, green bean casserole, some frozen mixed vegetables, the leftover gravy, mashed potatoes & grated cheese. I also added a chopped cooked onion with the vegies. Instead of leaving the turkey's cavity empty, we put a couple whole onions and an apple inside for moistness and flavor. One of those onions made a great addition to this dish. We also liked the name of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathieDawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I tried this last night with Thanksgiving leftovers. I got raves. I followed one reviewers advice and switched the potatoes and the stuffing. I also added some leftover corn casserole. It worked well. This will be a stand by for next Thanksgivings leftovers also. Nice way to use them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy and coke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I really liked this but the rest of the family, not so much. They didn't like the green beans. They would have preferred if the green beans had been served on the side. Easy enough to do next time. I did switch the dressing and the mashed potatoes as suggested by others. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
My kids look forward to this more than the actual Thanksgiving meal. This is soooo delicious!! I quadrupled the recipe so I could hand out leftovers!! I, also started with the stuffing as the first layer, ending with the potatoes and gravy on top. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. We had no green beans or green bean casserole left over. Instead I used leftover roasted vegetables and also leftover sliced cooked carrots. I followed other suggestions and reversed the potatoes and stuffing positions. I also put cranberry sauce on half the pie, as suggested. I liked the cranberry but my husband did not. Finally I sprinkled some shredded cheddar cheese on top. Delicious way to serve leftovers without a lot of different dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lehman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was pretty good! I made a cranberry mayo and tossed the turkey cubes in it. I also made a stuffing crust and topped it with mashed potatoes as many others suggested (prebaking the "crust" to crisp it up). While enjoying it, I realized I should have thrown some french fried onions on top....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Rosen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Excellent! Flipped mashed potatoes and stuffing, as others suggested. Used frozen mixed veggies instead of green beans, because that's what we had on hand. Would love to try it with green bean casserole or other veggies. Loved by all four of us--hubby, 2 yr old, 1 yr old, and me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
My grandma ALWAYS made this after Thanksgiving. I love it b/c it takes so good, AND b/c it reminds me of my grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States