Black Forest Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I’m telling you, Crisco puts out some darned good cookie recipes! This is the second one I’ve tried recently and it is yet another that hit it out of the ball park! And for once, Hubs and I both agreed on five stars. This does, in fact, have all the characteristics of Black Forest Cake – dark chocolate, creamy white chocolate and sweet-tart cherries - with the added crunch of almonds (I used chopped rather than sliced). They are at once gooey, chewy, crispy, and creamy. The richest, most decadent oatmeal cookie you’ll ever eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These were VERY good. You can use chips if you don't feel like chopping chocolate, but I like the chunks- they go better with the cookie, I think. Big hit at the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggiebee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
YOU HAVE TO TRY THESE!!! I had to improvise because I didn't have everything, but these are AMAZING cookies. I used dried cranberries instead of cherries, chopped walnuts instead of almonds, and 1/2 cup of butter with 1/2 cup of crisco because I didn't have butter flavored crisco. I used 6 ounces of milk chocolate chips because I didn't have the semisweet bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
lovely lovely will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowerBirmingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocho Rios, Saint Ann, Jamaica
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
These are kind of like an oatmeal cookie with everything. I normally don't care for dried cherries so I chopped them the size of raisins. That worked well for me. I did chop the chocolate also, as suggested. I don't care for sliced almonds in baked goods, so I took whole almonds and chopped them fine. I didn't have butter flavored shortening, so I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. That combination usually works well in cookies anyhow. I made 1/2 recipe and got 32 cookies using a standard cookie scoop. I took them out after 9 minutes, as they were pretty much done, and let them finish setting up on the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Very yummy indeed! Recipe made a lot of cookies! All I had was old fashioned oats and I used them anyway, not a problem at all! The cranberries added just the right moisture and enhanced the chocolate! Also used chocolate chips for the semi-sweet chocolate but chunked the white. MMMMmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
best oatmeal cookie recipe ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefJoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I replaced half of the shortening with butter simply because I enjoy butter in my cookie recipes. I also replaced a 1/3 cup of flour with cocoa. It gave the cookies a more chocolatey flavor that I was looking for. I also used dried tart cherries. I like the flavor contrasts. The rest of the recipe I followed exactly. These were fabulous in flavor, crunch and chew and will definitely be making again! They also froze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amery, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
These turned out great, and used exactly what I had in the kitchen, minus the baking chocolate. I decided to nix the white sugar and eyeballed about 1/2 cup of honey instead. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Absolutely divine! Used the quick 1 minute oatmeal as that is what I had in the pantry. Everything exactly as stated. Cooking time is right on the button. I was tempted to cook them a tad longer but resisted the temptation...so glad I did. They are heavenly just out of the oven or room temperature. DH took them to work today (4/5/13) and he said they lasted all of about 10 minutes. Thanks for another fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States