Black Forest Dump Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Super!! We made this for my mom's birthday... searched allrecipes for chocolate and cherries... and came up with this winner!! It was not too rich, not too sweet, not too cherry, not too chocolate... just right!! And soooooo easy!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Not bad, but not a hit as the traditional dump cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I just made this and it is WONDERFUL, so rich and good. Just make sure you use enough butter on the top, you need pretty good coverage from thin slices of butter. My husband is REALLY picky and he's in heaven eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
the taste is not bad, but almost everything the previous rewievers said is true: yes, you have the crumbly crust problem, and it's not quite cooked; yes I had to mix it after taking it out of the oven; yes, the trick of slicing the butter is good, and yes, this means so much butter... yes, 1 package of cake mix is definitely too much, I thought half would have been quite the thing; yes, the walnuts are almost out of place here. I'll give it another try before throwing this recipe to the wind, but...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I thought this was an okay recipe, but needed more cherries. Not nearly as good as some black forest cakes out there, plus with all that butter it is way too fattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiegal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Okay...at first i hated it and was going to throw it out but i put it in the refrigerator to take care of later. When i took it out and tried it again, i LOVED it! Just needs some ice cream to go with it now...sorry i jumped to conclusions...please forgive me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vodkagimlet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I just pulled this out of the oven and I am ready to jump in!Smells good and looks wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
It was fair. Certainly easy, but nothing I'd ever make again. My family said it had too many cherries. I didn't mind those, I just wasn't wild about the texture of the chocolate part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
By reducing the cake mix to 1/2 and the butter to 1/2 cup then pouring the juice from the can of cherries over top instead of beneath the mix it will make it moist and all will be cooked. Next time I will use an 8x8 pan so the fruit is thicker and still reduce the mix to 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This recipe is good when you want to whip up something quick. I think people are mislead about dump cakes. Most people expect it to be like an actual cake but it's supposed to be like fruit filling with a crunchy topping. I used pecans and slice up a really cold stick of butter and placed the butter slices on top that way you get more even coverage. Dump cakes are great !!! Give them a chance !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States