Black Forest Dump Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
When I read how this cake was made I was sure it would be nasty, but one of my friends insisted so I gave it a try. Wow I am glad I did! This is just perfect and so tasty. I have made this lots of times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Very good. My kids really liked this. I've been dreaming about this dessert ever since I saw TxCin~ILove2Ck's picture of it. I used a whole stick of butter and I grated it over the whole cake per some other reviewers suggestion and I had no problem with the cake being crumbly or dry. I also reserved the liquid from the cherries and poured that on the top of the cake as well after the butter. Turned out nicely. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Sinfully delicious. That is how my husband described this. I used a whole stick of margarine, pecan halves instead, and all I had was 2 cans of cherries not filling so I drained most of the juice off. This was done 10 minutes early. Good, we all liked this. It is really rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was wonderful! I used frozen cherries instead of canned, since I had some. I also used a bit more butter, just to make sure it all got covered. Hubby said this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is sooo yummy!! I used 2 big cans of cherry pie filling because I couldn't find a can of pitted cherries. In an 8x8 pan i spread a little more than half the cake mix ontop, then i grated a stick of butter over that. Make sure the butter has been in the freezer so you don't have a huge mess. Baked for about 42 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pbisluv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This did not turn out at all. Some of the cake mixture does not cook, and the part that did was so hard it was like chewing a rock. No I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
the best for a quick and easy chocolate fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
talk about a comfort food. we served warm with a scoop of ice cream on top. i cannot describe how tempted i was to keep on eating this one. the only thing i might change next time is that maybe i will only use half a can of the pie filling and see how that works out. it was a little too much cherry for me. i used the advice of others and sliced the butter very thin so that the top of the cake was pretty evenly covered. i love easy recipes like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Super!! We made this for my mom's birthday... searched allrecipes for chocolate and cherries... and came up with this winner!! It was not too rich, not too sweet, not too cherry, not too chocolate... just right!! And soooooo easy!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Not bad, but not a hit as the traditional dump cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States