Black Forest Dump Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
The easy way to get an even layer of butter so that all the cake mix gets some is to grate a very cold stick of butter evenly over the top. Use the butter wrapper to hold the stick as you grate. You may also use frozen butter. When the dry cake is covered evenly, it is crisp and buttery in the finished product (which is NOT supposed to be cake-like, but more of a fruit crisp.) Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
What did I do wrong? Perhaps I don't know what a dump cake is suppose to look like, but I thought it was a mess, not only to look at, but overly sweet. Was something left out of the recipe? The cake mix just sat on the top, uncooked. Why was it baked? It looked the same as it went into the oven. What an expensive waste if ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I love this recipe - I used a caramel flavored cake mix and apple pie filling. Wonderful! Be sure to use all the juice in the pineapple - do not drain. I even used a sugar-free vanilla pudding mix and it turned out great. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I immediately see a couple of problems with the recipe...too much dry ingredient and not enough butter. The pudding mix is unnecessary, as most cake mixes already have pudding in the mix. By adding more DRY pudding, one may end up with a gelatinous type substance. Coconut will also make sometimes make things a bit on the dry side.(ever put coconut in a sweetbread of some sort?). Most dump cakes call for AT LEAST 3/4 cup butter. When you add it all up, it is no wonder that most reviewers end up with dry cake mix on top that does not go anywhere (but perhaps in the garbage).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I didn't care for the pudding mix in the cake. There were areas that had almost a gel-like texture. I made this recipe without the pudding all the time and I will continue to do so. We did really like the addition of coconut to the recipe. That was a new one for us and will be a future variation for this recipe. I have also made this recipe with white or yellow cake mix and it was very good as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2000
This one is a hit. My 5 year old grandson made it and the whole family and friends loved it.He was beaming from ear to ear when we told him it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I've made this recipe twice. It always receives RAVE reviews and everyone wants the recipe. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
Took this cake to a church event and everyone LOVED IT! Very easy and very tastie. Well make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
This recipe bombed! It's not worth your time or expense. I would suggest use choose a different recipe whether than trying this one. It sounded as though it would be really good. It's NOT. It might be easy to make but it's NOT GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
Easy to make and lots of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States