Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I just made this Cake and it turned out Fabulous!!! I followed the Recipe exactly as was and had fun doing it!! It takes a bit of time, but so Worth it!! Thank you for this Recipe!!! The only thing I did was use the crumble layer as a forth layer just for extra height and put chocolate on the side. Either way it is a Great Cake!!!! I just started to get into baking and I really enjoyed this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This is the BEST black forest cake Ive ever tasted. Thanks so much for sharing. Oh and for all the newbie cooks out there. 1/8 cup = 2 tbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This is not a traditional German schwarzwaltenkirschtorte...or black forrest cherry cake...I was disappointed in the turn out because I found a German recipe finally and it should be rum soaked dark cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Amazing! Tastes even better after a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGIBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River John, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
EXCELLENT!!! Made for my husbands birthday. I did make a syrup of kirsch and the juice from the cherries (boil down) to brush on the layers. I will use chocolate shavings on the side next time instead of crumbs and also "sprinkle" the finished cake with them for a professional look. Very good cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Everything came out fine, tasted alright. The cherry topping and the whipped topping where good. The only problem was cake itself. It was very dry. I even took one pan out before it was done, to prevent that. Also I think the cherry topping needs to sit for a very long time, or maybe some flour needs to be added to it, because it didn't thicken properly, so it would slide off the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
WONDERFUL, Excellent cake. I didn't change a thing except, 1 cup heavy cream I made it chocolate for the decorating on top,(recipe on this web site, very good) YUMMY... Thanks, for a really great recipe my whole family loved it will definatly make again, soon very soon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J's Oven
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Great recipe! The only thing I did differently was use grounded up Oreo biscuits with their cream fillings removed to decorate the side of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Fabulous and showy - always impresses. The first time I made this, I couldn't find sour cherries and used pie filling - was very good. Second time, I used some frozen sour cherries, and they made all of the difference. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I am really not a fan of cake mixes--too light and insubstantial. This cake was wonderfully rich and just dense enough. The whole recipe was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States