Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This was fantastic! The only change I made for time and effort savings, was to used canned cherry pie filling instead of making the filling myself. It was a huge success and I used the video to make this to watch and pause at each step so I did it right. I highly reccomend this recipe, using the video along with it, you can't go wrong! Here's a link to the video: http://allrecipes.com/weblink/63382148/video-black-forest-cake-i---allrecipescom/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very good. It took me a long time to find the cherries, but the search was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I just made this Cake and it turned out Fabulous!!! I followed the Recipe exactly as was and had fun doing it!! It takes a bit of time, but so Worth it!! Thank you for this Recipe!!! The only thing I did was use the crumble layer as a forth layer just for extra height and put chocolate on the side. Either way it is a Great Cake!!!! I just started to get into baking and I really enjoyed this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This is the BEST black forest cake Ive ever tasted. Thanks so much for sharing. Oh and for all the newbie cooks out there. 1/8 cup = 2 tbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This is not a traditional German schwarzwaltenkirschtorte...or black forrest cherry cake...I was disappointed in the turn out because I found a German recipe finally and it should be rum soaked dark cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Amazing! Tastes even better after a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGIBEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River John, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
EXCELLENT!!! Made for my husbands birthday. I did make a syrup of kirsch and the juice from the cherries (boil down) to brush on the layers. I will use chocolate shavings on the side next time instead of crumbs and also "sprinkle" the finished cake with them for a professional look. Very good cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Everything came out fine, tasted alright. The cherry topping and the whipped topping where good. The only problem was cake itself. It was very dry. I even took one pan out before it was done, to prevent that. Also I think the cherry topping needs to sit for a very long time, or maybe some flour needs to be added to it, because it didn't thicken properly, so it would slide off the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
WONDERFUL, Excellent cake. I didn't change a thing except, 1 cup heavy cream I made it chocolate for the decorating on top,(recipe on this web site, very good) YUMMY... Thanks, for a really great recipe my whole family loved it will definatly make again, soon very soon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J's Oven
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Great recipe! The only thing I did differently was use grounded up Oreo biscuits with their cream fillings removed to decorate the side of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States