Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this cake today for christmas eve dinner tomorrow and stuck it in the refrigerator. When I checked on it later, it had fallen apart, cherries and cream all over the refrigerator. Don't know what I did wrong, I even used gelatin in the whipped cream to firm it up. The cake looks delicious in the pictures, sorry but I won't be trying this one again, too much effort. I don't have the skill to make a cake this nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
First off, I thought the cake recipe called for way too much sugar! I put in half (1 cup) of sugar and the cake was still delicious. Also, instead of making the cherry filling, I used 1 can of cherry pie filling. It was just enough for the top and the middle of the cake. I also used 2 8" cake pans instead of the 9" and the cake was perfect. I also would cut the heavy whipping cream and confectioner's sugar in half especially if you were to make the 8" verses the 9" cake. I had a lot of whipped cream left over even going around the cake twice on the bottom and around the top. I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This cake is Awesome I have been making this for my daughter's Birthday for the past couple years at her request I get compliments every time.. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma june

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This was a very good recipe, but I would recommend skipping the 1/8 cup for flour and use only 2 cups if using all purpose flour. I got rave reviews when I make this recipe for cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
The cake was really moist and instead of sour cherries (I couldn't find them) I used canned cherry pie filling. I made it for my husband's birthday and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoseH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This was fantastic! The only change I made for time and effort savings, was to used canned cherry pie filling instead of making the filling myself. It was a huge success and I used the video to make this to watch and pause at each step so I did it right. I highly reccomend this recipe, using the video along with it, you can't go wrong! Here's a link to the video: http://allrecipes.com/weblink/63382148/video-black-forest-cake-i---allrecipescom/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very good. It took me a long time to find the cherries, but the search was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I just made this Cake and it turned out Fabulous!!! I followed the Recipe exactly as was and had fun doing it!! It takes a bit of time, but so Worth it!! Thank you for this Recipe!!! The only thing I did was use the crumble layer as a forth layer just for extra height and put chocolate on the side. Either way it is a Great Cake!!!! I just started to get into baking and I really enjoyed this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This is the BEST black forest cake Ive ever tasted. Thanks so much for sharing. Oh and for all the newbie cooks out there. 1/8 cup = 2 tbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This is not a traditional German schwarzwaltenkirschtorte...or black forrest cherry cake...I was disappointed in the turn out because I found a German recipe finally and it should be rum soaked dark cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States