Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I made this cake for the Fourth of July, and everyone loved it! Great recipe, a "must make again" cake! I made some adjustments, including using cool whip instead of making my own whipped cream, and pie filling for the cherries. This was just what I had in my kitchen at the time, and it still turned out beautifully. I am making this cake again for my mother's birthday because she loved it so much!!! thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
I have only made the cherry part, but it was GREAT!!! I used Dark Morello Cherries from Trader Joe's. You can top cheese cake with them, cupcakes, pancakes, tarts . . ANYTHING! I loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathryn Soward Zambrana
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This cake was as awesome as the recipe says. Easy to make and super delicious. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
The cake was dry, even when I did as suggested and allow the cherries and whipping cream to soak in for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I make the birthday cakes for my office. I made this cake for the boss's 65th & he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Made as is, and it was amazing. I layered my cake the night before and the cake held up well. It was delicious and dense and I would definitely make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is my favorite black forest cake recipe. I have made it multiple times. It it a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made this for my boyfriend's parents for Christmas, and they thoroughly enjoyed it. I did at more chocolate and just a little bit more oil to make the cake richer. I feel that it could have been better than it turned out, but perhaps that can be accounted to my novice baking skills. It's appearance is impressive, and it's also tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this cake today for christmas eve dinner tomorrow and stuck it in the refrigerator. When I checked on it later, it had fallen apart, cherries and cream all over the refrigerator. Don't know what I did wrong, I even used gelatin in the whipped cream to firm it up. The cake looks delicious in the pictures, sorry but I won't be trying this one again, too much effort. I don't have the skill to make a cake this nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
First off, I thought the cake recipe called for way too much sugar! I put in half (1 cup) of sugar and the cake was still delicious. Also, instead of making the cherry filling, I used 1 can of cherry pie filling. It was just enough for the top and the middle of the cake. I also used 2 8" cake pans instead of the 9" and the cake was perfect. I also would cut the heavy whipping cream and confectioner's sugar in half especially if you were to make the 8" verses the 9" cake. I had a lot of whipped cream left over even going around the cake twice on the bottom and around the top. I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States