Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I followed this recipe to the 2 and made a delicious cake for my boyfriend's birthday. Read all the reviews as well and found some good tips like making the filling/topping first, baking it a day before you plan to serve it and cutting the cake with thread instead of a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Loved it! I made this recipe with my own gluten free flour blend and my own sour cherry preserves made with honey... it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made this for Christmas Eve..everyone raved...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hollinhead77
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I found this cake to be very moist and wonderful! Had just a bit of trouble with the cherries but raising the heat helped. My husband doesn't like chocolate cake and adored this one! WILL SO MAKE AGAIN AND AGAIN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I haven't been able to find sour cherries ( in Canada) and so haven't tried this yet. I am hoping that the sour cherries will be a fresher alternative to cherry pie filling used in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Pretty sure this was the one I made the first time, better than Black Forest cake II. I just added the kirsch as arcticwoman suggested and used Choc curls instead of crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Very easy and so delicious! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I made this as 2 B'day cakes for 2 different parties and everyone liked them a lot. I made 4 layers and I made 4 small cupcakes for each cake and used the 4 layers to stack and the cupcakes to decorate the sides. Since the cherry pie filling was tart, I took a part of it and added a tablespoon of sugar and 1/4 cup of water and drizzled on the cake halves before assembling. The cake was moist and had a wonderful flavor. Thanks for the recipe Linda. You made me a hero!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I followed the advice of arcticwoman and made a syrup out of 1/2 cup reserved cherry juice, 1/2 cup sugar, and 1/4 cup Kirsch (cherry liqueur - added after the juice/sugar simmered for a bit and then cooled). I wasn't sure if I was to omit the cornstarch or not, but I did omit it and it seemed a little thin, but turned out fine. I also used the Oregon brand can of tart cherries, two cans (14.5oz each) and I actually had left over cherries. I also only had the cake in the oven for 20 minutes when I took it out and it was perfect. I used convection bake, at 350. To separate the layers, I used my Wilton cake wire thingy and it worked okay, but next time, I'll probably try using a thread instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
loved the recipe! I just added brewed cold coffee to moisten the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States