Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Somehow the flavor wasn't as good as store-bought which seemed strange since in my experience home-made is always better. Still delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poway, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I want to make this recipe, but am a little confused. If I can only find pie filling, can I still make the syrup, or just use it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
The cake was a little dry, but perhaps I over-baked it. Also, while I made the cake the day before, I should have made the whipped cream topping just before serving it. It cracked a little and turned yellow in some places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was a good recipe, although I would look to find a lighter cake. The cake was very dense. I put a bit of geletin mixed with water to help stabalize the whipping cream. The cherries were delicious will definitely use that part of the recipe again, but need to find a lighter chocolate cake recipe to combine with this recipe! Thanks a ton, Karm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Excellent basic chocolate cake! We are lucky enough to have our own sour cherry tree, so I used my own cherries to make a cherry topping/filling as well as our own kirsch to add to the cake while it was cooling! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Tasted wonderful! I've tried this twice & both times the filling oozed & the top slid off the cake. I must be doing something wrong...too much filling? Looked terrible, but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Labombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallaceburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this for my boss who loves cherries and she loved it! Forget using low heat for making the cherry goo, do a flash boil with it or else your whole cherries will fall apart and turn into jam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Making this for the 2nd and definitely not the last time. It's quick, easy and scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
The first time I have ever made this kind of cake. My girlfriend told me this was her favorite so I made it for her birthday. I used 3 cans (14 ounces each) of tart cherries-drained. It looked good and tasted great!~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Marie Cox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe! I wouldn't change a thing, it got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willsboro, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States