Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
It's far away the best Black Forest Cake that ever existed! I've tried many recipies in the past but none compares to this one! Trust me! Just try it! It's so so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
The cake was very yummy but i felt like it needed more cherries & next time I'll not cook the cake as long. The flavor of the cake was very good! My family already asked me to make it again for next Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
BAD RECIPE! I followed the recipe to the letter and this cake is NOT GOOD. The cherry filling tastes a bit pasty like you can taste the corn starch, not very flavorful. The chocolate cake was dense, a bit rigid & dry, and has a dull flavor. The whipped cream drips and partially melts off the cake as soon as you frost it. I took a chance and made this as the main dessert for my family Christmas party because of the good reviews - what an embarrassing disaster. THIS RECIPE SHOULD BE DELETED FROM THIS SITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JuliaN
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Like this recipe a lot, used shave chocolate on the outside instead of cake crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trissy
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Pretty good recipe, although I found it a bit bland. This may be due to the fact I made my own cherry filling since I couldn't find any of the sour cherry filling. It did turn out a bit dry so perhaps adding some more liquid ingredients would help. I also had to make a second batch of the cake mix since it would not slice into 4 layers. Perhaps it's a fault of mine & not the recipe. Unsure, but it was unnecessarily complicated for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Swimgeni04
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Loved it! Used fresh organic strawberries instead of cherries!! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Exceptional cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsMuse
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This was a fun build... Followed recipe exactly and wow, absolutely spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda Paynter
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I made this cake for my Mom for her birthday, as it is her favorite. for the Cherries, i got 2 jars of sour cherries and started them long before i started the cake,I also used shaved chocolate on the sides the cake did cook faster than the recommended 35 min, while it does take hours to make this cake(while mutitasking) this is one of the best cakes i have ever eaten in my life, even my step father who is not a big cake fan had FOUR pieces. They are coming over again this weekend and want me to make this cake again but i think i might try raspberries for the topping... thank you so much for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Paynter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I made this for a friends OctoberFest party, what a hit will make this again, luckily I had my daughter to help decorate (she had taken a cake decorating course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States