Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I have made this cake several times simply b/c it is soooo good! I brought it with for a family holiday dinner, not only did everyone love it but the presentation is beautiful. Instead of pressing crumbs into the icing on the side, I used dark chocolate shavings. MUCH better this way hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BounceAround
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Fantastic recipe, and relatively quick and easy to make. I was expecting something a little more difficult. But the turn out was great and everyone went for seconds. Delicious cake and perfect recipe. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BounceAround

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Somehow the flavor wasn't as good as store-bought which seemed strange since in my experience home-made is always better. Still delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poway, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I want to make this recipe, but am a little confused. If I can only find pie filling, can I still make the syrup, or just use it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
The cake was a little dry, but perhaps I over-baked it. Also, while I made the cake the day before, I should have made the whipped cream topping just before serving it. It cracked a little and turned yellow in some places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was a good recipe, although I would look to find a lighter cake. The cake was very dense. I put a bit of geletin mixed with water to help stabalize the whipping cream. The cherries were delicious will definitely use that part of the recipe again, but need to find a lighter chocolate cake recipe to combine with this recipe! Thanks a ton, Karm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Excellent basic chocolate cake! We are lucky enough to have our own sour cherry tree, so I used my own cherries to make a cherry topping/filling as well as our own kirsch to add to the cake while it was cooling! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Tasted wonderful! I've tried this twice & both times the filling oozed & the top slid off the cake. I must be doing something wrong...too much filling? Looked terrible, but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Labombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallaceburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this for my boss who loves cherries and she loved it! Forget using low heat for making the cherry goo, do a flash boil with it or else your whole cherries will fall apart and turn into jam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Making this for the 2nd and definitely not the last time. It's quick, easy and scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States