Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I made this cake for a birthday. I liked that it didn't use canned pie filling or a boxed cake mix. The cake actually has a nice chocolaty taste. The cherries at the store only come in 14.5 oz cans so I went with that size. When I was bringing them to a boil they appeared to have a dark peach/pink color but not red. So, I added a few drops of red food coloring and it worked perfect. I was worried about the whipped cream not holding up the next day on the piped part, so I made a recipe of stablized whipped cream from this site for the piping part. I do suggest using a smaller tip for the bottom piping, then the top, although the recipe does not mention that. The cake may be transported so I used a round cardboard to decorate the cake on, on a cake stand. I thought the final cake looked very attractive. I hope everyone enjoys it tommorrow! Thank you submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by cbriggs45
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
i made this for me and my parents. i found out the day before i was making it i didnt have 9 inch round pans.. i used a 101/4 spring form the cooking time was extended but the cherry filling i could have just had that the cake was a bit wonky main due to the pan but i sent the left overs to my brother they all gobbled it up i would and will make this again i loved the process it was easy and made for a great time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbriggs45

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2drinkchai
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I made the cake exactly as it said in the recipe and it turned out beautifully! Chocolate cake was delicious. I bought sour pitted cherries from a European food market, and I will NEVER buy canned cherry pie filling again! I put the 4th layer aside to dry for a bit then crumbed it in the food processor. I made the cake the day before with a crumb coat of whipped cream and set it in the fridge overnight. On serving day I finished up the sides, and decorated the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2drinkchai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This recipe turned out great! I did make a couple modifications that added to the chocolate flavor of the cake. I dissolved a Tbsp of instant coffee in a Tbsp of hot water and I added that to the milk. I also added two grated squares of bakers semi-sweet chocolate to the mix. The chocolate flavour of the cake was nice and rich. I decorated the cake with cherries, grated chocolate, hand piped chocolate leaves, and whip cream that was stabilized with gelatin. I did end up using canned cherry pie fill as I could not find sour cheries. Overall, a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetn_low

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PB&J
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I 've made this cake several times and get rave reviews on it. It is a little time consuming,but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
The cherrys are amazing! I loved them. I had to add a little more sugar to the whipped cream, just do to personal preference. The cake however, was terrible. I only baked it 25 minutes at 350 and it was so dry. I usually add sour cream to any cake I bake but not this time. Big mistake! A boxed cake would have been better than this one...and I may actually use that in place next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAYEE
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very yummy cake, I actually used chocolate milk instead of white milk. Didn't seem to make a difference. Everyone enjoyed the cake. I didn't use the pitted sour cherries. I just used the canned cherry filling and that worked out perfectly. The taste was perfect. I just over baked the cake. Definitely using this recipe again, everyone enjoyed it and loved the presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAYEE
Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brittneyart
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Very delicous cake! I used cherries in a jar and it turned out beautifully. I would recommend this cake to anyone who likes black forest cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittneyart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by saunie
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is a fabulous cake recipe. Great texture and flavor. I baked mine in a heart-shape pan with butter cream icing and cherries between layers. frosted the outside with dark choc. icing and topped with cherries nestled in a piped heart shape on top. I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thejoyces10
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this for mine and my husbands 1st wedding anniversary and it turned out amazing!!! We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States