Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Everything came out fine, tasted alright. The cherry topping and the whipped topping where good. The only problem was cake itself. It was very dry. I even took one pan out before it was done, to prevent that. Also I think the cherry topping needs to sit for a very long time, or maybe some flour needs to be added to it, because it didn't thicken properly, so it would slide off the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
WONDERFUL, Excellent cake. I didn't change a thing except, 1 cup heavy cream I made it chocolate for the decorating on top,(recipe on this web site, very good) YUMMY... Thanks, for a really great recipe my whole family loved it will definatly make again, soon very soon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J's Oven
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Great recipe! The only thing I did differently was use grounded up Oreo biscuits with their cream fillings removed to decorate the side of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Fabulous and showy - always impresses. The first time I made this, I couldn't find sour cherries and used pie filling - was very good. Second time, I used some frozen sour cherries, and they made all of the difference. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I am really not a fan of cake mixes--too light and insubstantial. This cake was wonderfully rich and just dense enough. The whole recipe was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
this review is for the chocolate cake layers only, as I did something different with the cherries and whipped cream. I thought that they turned out a little dry - and I only baked them for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
A couple classmates and I made this cake for class the day we presented our project on Germany. Everyone loved it! My favorite part about making this cake was keeping the crumbs that came off when cutting the cake in half; and a little of the cherry and whipped cream. It was nice to have a taste of cake without having to cut into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I made this cake for my son's birthday. It did take a few hours to put together but everyone loved it! The cake looked beautiful. Here are my thoughts after making it: 1. Start cooking the cherries first. They will take a good 30-40 minutes to thicken and then you need to cool them. I did this in the fridge for another 30 minutes. 2. Bottom of the cake was a bit overcooked. I baked the cakes for 36 minutes. Next time, I will pull them out 32 minutes. 3. Whipped topping was not quite sweet enough for my taste. Next time, I will add just a tad bit more confectioners sugar. 4. I liked the crumbled cake on the sides of the cake. But, next time, I will use shaved chocolate with a vegetable peeler. 5. Do put your cake together several hours before you need to serve it and refrigerate it. I finished with mine around 11am and served it at 7:30pm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
It's amazing.....I prepared it and it was wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Great cake I will never buy a black forest cake at the bakery again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States