Black Forest Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Somehow the flavor wasn't as good as store-bought which seemed strange since in my experience home-made is always better. Still delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poway, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I want to make this recipe, but am a little confused. If I can only find pie filling, can I still make the syrup, or just use it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
The cake was a little dry, but perhaps I over-baked it. Also, while I made the cake the day before, I should have made the whipped cream topping just before serving it. It cracked a little and turned yellow in some places.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was a good recipe, although I would look to find a lighter cake. The cake was very dense. I put a bit of geletin mixed with water to help stabalize the whipping cream. The cherries were delicious will definitely use that part of the recipe again, but need to find a lighter chocolate cake recipe to combine with this recipe! Thanks a ton, Karm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Excellent basic chocolate cake! We are lucky enough to have our own sour cherry tree, so I used my own cherries to make a cherry topping/filling as well as our own kirsch to add to the cake while it was cooling! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Tasted wonderful! I've tried this twice & both times the filling oozed & the top slid off the cake. I must be doing something wrong...too much filling? Looked terrible, but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Labombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallaceburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this for my boss who loves cherries and she loved it! Forget using low heat for making the cherry goo, do a flash boil with it or else your whole cherries will fall apart and turn into jam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Making this for the 2nd and definitely not the last time. It's quick, easy and scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
The first time I have ever made this kind of cake. My girlfriend told me this was her favorite so I made it for her birthday. I used 3 cans (14 ounces each) of tart cherries-drained. It looked good and tasted great!~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Marie Cox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe! I wouldn't change a thing, it got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willsboro, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States