Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Made this today and it was absolutely delicious. Didn't have Kale, so I used a half bag of collard greens that I had left over from another dish - guess any greens will do. I'm giving a lot to friends so they can see how good black-eyed peas and pork neck bones taste. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This was crazy good. I used ham hocks instead of necks, and added andouille sausage to it with the kale. I did not have the canned tomatoes with peppers, so used fresh chopped tomatoes and some ground dried chiles. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this recipe yesterday and it was great! I pretty much followed the recipe (didn't measure the vegetables exactly). The only change I made was adding a green pepper, since my diced tomatoes didn't have green chiles in them. I had never used neck bones before, but they gave the dish a richness and also had a surprising amount of meat on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarl_Cabot_2k

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Soo good. I love greens and am always looking for different ways to fix them. This had a lot of flavor and the chiles were not too hot. Used ham hocks because necks weren't available. Also used canned beans, so reduced the amount of water and the cooking time. I'll definitely do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was wonderful!! It had amazing,deep flavor, and for our family, just the right balance between being thick and soupy. I didn't have any neck bones or ham hocks, and we were also out of regular ham. But after cooking the bacon I chopped up 1/2 a Polish sausage and let it caramelize in the bacon drippings before adding the vegetables. Very yummy meal--definite do-over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Just finished a bowl and it was outstanding! It gets four double thumbs up from my brood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent! Couldn't get any pork neck bones, so I substituted ham hocks instead. Next time I'll skip the bacon, increase the ham, and use ham hocks again, because their smoky flavor adds so much to this dish. Also used my slow cooker--two hours on high, then about five hours on low, adding the ham and kale during the last 45 minutes of cooking. Since I am allergic to cayenne, I used Penzey's Aleppo Pepper instead. I also doubled the amount of onion the recipe calls for, and sautéed the onion/celery/carrots before adding them to the slow cooker, in order to control the amount of liquid that the onions throw off. I can see this being my family's New Years Day dish for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
The whole family says this recipe is a "Keeper". It was EXCELLENT!!! My entire family loved it - even my picky girls! Spice was perfect, flavors melded nicely. Amazing the second day too! Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILLERSQUARED

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Wonderful flavors did not have any neck bones so used a smoked ham hock which I cooked for about two hours (or until falling off the bone). Took the meat off and used the water from the ham hocks and added the peas.When I sauteed the bacon I used the bacon grease to soften all the vegetables (onion,celery, carrot and garlic). Followed the recipe as written, for all other steps Everything went into the slow cooker for 8 hours . Cooking it again for a large group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Fabulous! Seasonings are perfect! Used ham hocks and made this for the second time tonite. Everyone just loved it. Will continue to make it often. Makes wonderful leftovers that only get more flavorful throughout the week. Great to heat up at lunch time. I also find the rice unnecessary, although it's fine if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States