Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Made this today and it was absolutely delicious. Didn't have Kale, so I used a half bag of collard greens that I had left over from another dish - guess any greens will do. I'm giving a lot to friends so they can see how good black-eyed peas and pork neck bones taste. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This was crazy good. I used ham hocks instead of necks, and added andouille sausage to it with the kale. I did not have the canned tomatoes with peppers, so used fresh chopped tomatoes and some ground dried chiles. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I made this recipe yesterday and it was great! I pretty much followed the recipe (didn't measure the vegetables exactly). The only change I made was adding a green pepper, since my diced tomatoes didn't have green chiles in them. I had never used neck bones before, but they gave the dish a richness and also had a surprising amount of meat on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarl_Cabot_2k

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Soo good. I love greens and am always looking for different ways to fix them. This had a lot of flavor and the chiles were not too hot. Used ham hocks because necks weren't available. Also used canned beans, so reduced the amount of water and the cooking time. I'll definitely do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
It's a nice recipe, but I found the beans were not quite cooked enough for me in the time frame given -- a tiny bit on the crunchy side. Maybe a full hour before adding the tomatoes might be better. Also, the greens added to the beans is an interesting idea, but I still prefer them cooked separately. It could be that the substitutions I made may have made the difference -- I live in Germany, and smoked neckbone and ham hocks American style are not to be found here. I used Sudtiroler speck, a flavorful smoked meat, as a substitute for the neckbone, and smoked Kasseler as a substitute for the ham. I've used Kasseler in the past with excellent results. Bacon as we recognize it is readily available here and can be found already cut into small strips, very convenient for cooking. Even so however, the flavor was not quite as rich as I had hoped. Not bad, but I'll stick to my old recipe for next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This was wonderful!! It had amazing,deep flavor, and for our family, just the right balance between being thick and soupy. I didn't have any neck bones or ham hocks, and we were also out of regular ham. But after cooking the bacon I chopped up 1/2 a Polish sausage and let it caramelize in the bacon drippings before adding the vegetables. Very yummy meal--definite do-over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Just finished a bowl and it was outstanding! It gets four double thumbs up from my brood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent! Couldn't get any pork neck bones, so I substituted ham hocks instead. Next time I'll skip the bacon, increase the ham, and use ham hocks again, because their smoky flavor adds so much to this dish. Also used my slow cooker--two hours on high, then about five hours on low, adding the ham and kale during the last 45 minutes of cooking. Since I am allergic to cayenne, I used Penzey's Aleppo Pepper instead. I also doubled the amount of onion the recipe calls for, and sautéed the onion/celery/carrots before adding them to the slow cooker, in order to control the amount of liquid that the onions throw off. I can see this being my family's New Years Day dish for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great flavor, cayenne pepper overpowered the recipe. I would recommend not adding cayenne. I added a total of 2 cups diced carrots,12oz smoked ham & 10oz of kale. It was delicious.-Kris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
We made this for New Years Day and it was delicious!! Used ham hocks instead of neck bones but otherwise followed the recipe. Very good! Happy new year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States