Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Well, this was just a bunch of yumminess in a bowl! It simmered on the stove while we watched the Super Bowl..and, I actually followed this recipe very closely - and based on others' reviews, I added some andouille sausage and used 1/2 chicken broth 1/2 water. I thought the recipe might have called for too much thyme, but it was perfect..Simply delish! Paired it with cornbread and honey which sent it over the top. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This WAS AMAZING!! Even my non-black eyed pea fans raved about it - and that alone speaks volumes. Wish I could give it more than five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just OM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This is a fabulous recipe!!! It makes a lot. I didn't add the greens to the beans, rather I put them in a separate bowl and those who wanted to add them could (I like my greens and - I used collards - with vinegar and a little sugar). I bought 2 lbs. of smoked pork neck bones and 3 large ham hocks to a boil and (I did not brown them because they are smoked; I omitted the smoked ham), cooked them in water until tender, adding additional water as needed but let the liquid cook down during the last hour to concentrate it because I wanted the flavor of the broth to add to the beans. To save time I cooked the beans separately (with the bay leaf and sauteed veggies) the last hour letting the liquid cook down. Poured the reserved liquid from the meat and added to the beans along with the rest of the ingredients. I removed the meat from the bone and cut into bite size pieces. I did have to change things a bit because I used smoked meat - our favorite. I did serve over rice but honestly, the rice isn't necessary. It's good and hearty with or without the rice. I served with some Mexican corn bread (bacon, onion, corn and jalapeno's). Let me say, OMG DELICIOUS!! I froze leftovers after the 2nd day because I am looking forward to this in the weeks to come! Thank you Chef John for yet another fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I made this by the recipe. It was easy and delicious!! Even kids had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Fantastic! Anyone who thinks they do not like black eyed peas should give it a try. I used cubed pork loin instead of pork neck bones, frozen black eyed peas, and added chicken bouillon and it still turned out great. I'm so glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Made this for New Years Day. Wow! Sooo good even my picky husband said "These are really good!" I made according to Chef Johns recipe only added a Ham Hock. The simmering pot smelled so good too! A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Delicious recipe once again! I always go to Chef John first and foremost when looking for a recipe. He hasn't let me down yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Braga

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King City, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Sooooo good. I did make some changes due to what I had on hand... No pork necks, so I boiled the bone from the Easter ham and added 2 drops of liquid smoke. No canned tomatoes with green chilies, so I used diced fresh tomatoes and added red pepper flakes. Will def make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Good! Nothing great, but it was hearty and full of healthy goods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Hearty, flavorful peas! It had some heat to it, but we added some Tapatio when it was finished. I used cajun spice mix, thyme, cumin and bay leaf. Great winter supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States