Black-Eyed Peas Spicy Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I've been trying to keep things vegetarian and not add meat for flavor. So I sauteed the onion in 1 T. olive oil and 1/4 t. garlic salt for about five minutes before adding the beans and jalapeno pepper. It was fabulous and I'll be putting this on my regular side dish rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly J. Garrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fortville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I used frozen black-eyed peas cooked in vegetable broth for 30 minutes with a little chopped ham thrown in, then I followed the recipe as given (I only had dried red peppers), adjusting liquid as needed. We try to cut back on meat, so I'll give it a try without ham or bacon next time. This is a delicious side, but with a salad and cornbread it would make a meal for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I used fresh black eyed peas instead of canned. I wasn't very impressed with this recipe although my boyfriend said it was good. (I think he was lying). It seemed kindof bland but I might try it again with canned peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jedrake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Easy, Easy, Easy and very tasty if you like spicy. Highly recommend it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Though I followed the reviews and tried to add flavor to this recipe, it just fell flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I drained the peas and added 1/2 c chicken broth like one of the other reviewers. Also added dash of chipotle sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I took hints from other reviews and added 3 slices of bacon. I had soaked my black eyed peas over night and added 2 cups of chicken broth to the mixture. I also added 1 teaspoon of fresh chopped jalapeno and generous amounts of black pepper. I boiled for 5 minutes, then reduced heat for the remaining 25 minutes covered. This is delicious, not the original recipe, but very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Followed other reviewers advise and added 1/2 cup Chicken Broth, and one 14+ oz. can of Petite diced Tomatoes. This made a wonderful side dish. The wife loved it. It's definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ute Park, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
good way to add some variety to blackeyed peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bone Ami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Clayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This was very good. Take the advice of others and use some chicken broth. Adds much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States