Black-eyed Peas and Ham Hocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
We live in NW Washington, but my husband grew up with southern cooking. I had smoked ham hocks that we needed to use up from the freezer and he hates split pea soup, so I thought I'd try this recipe. He LOVED it! He said it was "real comfort food" and reminded him of the way his grandma used to make it. He put ketchup on it :-P and pronounced it a keeper. The only change I made was to cook the beans for about 1/2 hour, drain them then cover with fresh water, bring to a boil and finish cooking. I also used two bay leaves instead of one for more flavor. Our kids liked it, too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Simple and tasty. Used this recipe for New Year's Day 2013. Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was so good! I had this with some southern friends on New Year's Eve many years ago, and thought I would try it myself. I had some left over ham from an early Easter dinner instead of hamhocks, so I started off boiling the beans in some ham stock and got them going before adding the ham. I did add some vinegar based hot sauce after reading some of the reviews. I really wish I had some cornbread to make this meal complete!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Excellent will never eat canned black eyed peas again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Very good, did not use a bay leaf. I cooked the ham hocks in chicken broth and then strained out ham hocks and added ham, potatos, black-eyed peas. Broth was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was a very good recipe it was a flavorful dish though i added 2 tsps of sugar i really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ray
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Easy to make and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Here are my suggestions: soak beans overnight in 2 tsp of baking soda (to remove gas from beans); cook ham hocks on high for 45 minutes using Chicken stock then add all ingredients; add onions and a pepper to spice it up. This is the way my mother cooked her black-eyed peas. One final note: prepare this with "Grandma's Buttermilk Cornbread" recipe and your guests will rant and rave. Thanks for sharing this comfort food recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodlyMother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Absolutely delicious and EASY. Used fresh pink eyed peas instead of dried black eyed and placed in crockpot on low over 8 hours along with 1/4 onion, chopped. Came home from work and hubby and I gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was great. Originally from MI it was not a yearly tradition to have black-eyed peas. I had no idea how tasty they are. My advice on this recipe is to keep this simple. I now know, I love the taste of black eyed peas so I didn't tweak this at all. The last time I made this, I doubled the recipe used a ham bone from a spiral cut ham. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Mini Wheels with Peas, Ham and Tomato

Sweet Virginia ham pairs perfectly with peas, tomatoes, and sautéed garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States