Black-Eyed Peas and Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This is a very good recipe! The only thing I did different was to cook the onion and celery directly in the roux until tender then added the okra (I used frozen becuase I could not find any fresh). I have made other gumbos that way and I hate making more pots dirty than I have to. Lazy me!:) Thanks for this wonderful recipe. The combinations are terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This recipe was soooooo delicious and so easy. I used fresh veggies, except for the tomatoes; I used canned, diced ones. I also added diced jalapeno peppers just to spice it up a little. True to her word, it was even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was delicious and just what I needed for New Years Day, a way to use up leftover ham (the old fashioned kind of bone-in ham) and a way to get black-eyed peas for the holiday. After it's done let it simmer covered real low for the tastes to blend. I had to use frozen sliced okra, the only thing available, and it turned out great! Only thing I added extra was a tsp. of chicken granules. Thank you, Paula from Susie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I will definitely make this again. I made some changes. First, I used smoked sausage instead of ham. I also used two cans of ro-tel tomatoes with green chiles instead of chopping fresh tomatoes. I did not have fresh parsley, so I used about half the amount of dried. Finally, I added half a teaspoon of dried savory. And like a previous reviewer, I cooked the vegetables in with the roux, and because I used frozen okra I added it last. The gumbo is very good. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGARET CARR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Great tasting, very filling & easy to make. Number one hit at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAKINGGARDENS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pineland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Easy to make and full of flavor! I used can vegs and add it with the juice to omit the water. Minus the bay leaf added more garlic and onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Doesn't need the black eyed peas as it is very think and rich without them. I used bacon instead of ham. Served over brown rice, this was a very good supper and my husband requested the leftovers for lunch today. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Good soup! I did make some changes. I used 1/2 cup oil & 2/3 cup flour to start. I added 2 large onions, 4 stalks celery & leaves, 5 cloves minced garlic, 1 bell pepper instead of okra, cooked 10 minutes. Then I stirred in 8 cups of water, 2 cans chopped tomatoes, 1 tablespoon dried parsley, 1-1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon thyme, 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper, 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, 4 bay leaves & better than beef boullian, simmered 20 minutes or so then added 3 cans black eyed peas, no meat added but I did serve with rice which was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This recipe is DE-LISH! I added shrimp and rice and left out the okra (couldn't find any... don't be surprised, I'm in the UK). Was quick and easy to make and is super filling! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gautier, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This recipe was very good. I added a jalapeno to the onions and celery and okra to saute and used Rotel diced tomatoes with chilis. It gave it just the right kick. I also served this with white rice and corn bread. Great meal for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States