Black-Eyed Peas and Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Easy to make and full of flavor! I used can vegs and add it with the juice to omit the water. Minus the bay leaf added more garlic and onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This recipe was soooooo delicious and so easy. I used fresh veggies, except for the tomatoes; I used canned, diced ones. I also added diced jalapeno peppers just to spice it up a little. True to her word, it was even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Great tasting, very filling & easy to make. Number one hit at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAKINGGARDENS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pineland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This is a very good recipe! The only thing I did different was to cook the onion and celery directly in the roux until tender then added the okra (I used frozen becuase I could not find any fresh). I have made other gumbos that way and I hate making more pots dirty than I have to. Lazy me!:) Thanks for this wonderful recipe. The combinations are terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This recipie was ok, I probably wouldn't make it again. I made it for a dinner party and it was recieved cooly from my guests
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I'm sorry to say that this dish isn't to my families taste. The Okra was very fibrous and spoilt it, I really picked them over too, it looked as if I was getting nice young ones, but obviously they weren't. Sorry Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I will definitely make this again. I made some changes. First, I used smoked sausage instead of ham. I also used two cans of ro-tel tomatoes with green chiles instead of chopping fresh tomatoes. I did not have fresh parsley, so I used about half the amount of dried. Finally, I added half a teaspoon of dried savory. And like a previous reviewer, I cooked the vegetables in with the roux, and because I used frozen okra I added it last. The gumbo is very good. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARGARET CARR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This just wasn't very tasty.The cubbed ham never got soft (verry chuey).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was delicious and just what I needed for New Years Day, a way to use up leftover ham (the old fashioned kind of bone-in ham) and a way to get black-eyed peas for the holiday. After it's done let it simmer covered real low for the tastes to blend. I had to use frozen sliced okra, the only thing available, and it turned out great! Only thing I added extra was a tsp. of chicken granules. Thank you, Paula from Susie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I liked it. I used fresh peas and frozen okra (out of season) and turkey sausage instead of ham. Next time I will add shrimp and crab. Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States