Black-Eyed Peas and Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Very good! I sauted my veggies then added the rue. I used ground turkey meatballs and turkey hardwood smoked sausage instead of the ham and it came out sooo good! I also sauted my veggies with a small scotch bonnet pepper and I used the fire roasted canned tomatoes to give it an extra kick. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe. This will be added to my collection. I can't wait to cook it again and share it with friends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was my first attempt at Cajun style food. Awesome soup. I followed the recipe exact except that I used extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil. We LOVED it...next time I will double the recipe and freeze a batch for lunches. Can't wait to try some others on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamelaBielby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This was really yummy and easy to make. I gave this recipe 4/5 stars because it was not as thick as I thought it would be. Perhaps I will like it better tomorrow when I will try it with rice. I followed the advise from other reviewers and substituted okra with a green pepper. Also I forgot to mention that I doubled everything to be able to serve more. I also used canned dice tomatoes with chilis to give it a little bit more kick. I used minced garlic in place of cloves. I also used smoked sausage and shrimp...... this will definitely be my "new" New Years meal...... I can't wait to try this tomorrow since others have said that its so much better the next day. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This is a hearty soup, yet I do not feel guilty for having a second bowl. We've been enjoying this for the past couple days. I basically threw everything in the crock pot and let people eat as they please. Next time I'll try sausage (as others mentioned) rather than ham because the flavor is a little quiet. I do, however, love the pairing of okra and blackeye peas, it's a nice change for me. And I must admit the addition of a 1/2 head of green cabbage. I can't help but to add cabbage whenever I'm preparing soups for my family. It's serves us right and so does this recipe. Thanks for letting me share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by Lula Grable
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is our new favorite recipe. The first time I made it I used andouille sausage rather than ham. I sliced and browned the sausage separately before adding it to the gumbo pot. We like our sausage with a little bit of crispy exterior. I had used my cast iron frying pan to brown the onions, celery and garlic first then transferred it to the gumbo pot. Browned the sausage in the same pan next. The first time I added extra black-eyed peas too. The frozen okra I waited to add until about 15 minutes before serving. If you add the okra in too soon it cooks down to nothing. The second time I made this I cut back a tad on the sausage so I could add chicken too. Next time I plan on trying some shrimp. Also the second time I made this I added extra chicken broth for a total of 3 cans and extra black-eyed peas for a total of 4 cans. In our house we serve 4 adults so we adjust recipes accordingly. This is really an outstanding recipe I recommend adding different proteins for variety. That's why they call it gumbo. A little bit of this a little bit of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Made this on New Years Day - had to get in my Black-Eyed peas - and it was DELICIOUS! I used chicken stock for 3 of the 4 cups of water but otherwise followed the recipe. This will become our New Year Lucky Gumbo from now on. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixie61

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
First I made the rue as suggested with oil, but it burned long before the recommended 5 to 7 minutes and never thickened up. I dumped it out and tried again using unsalted butter and flour. I cooked it only about three to four minutes. Success! I also added the ham with the tomatoes and water, to shorten up the cooking time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was really good. I did use frozen Okra but pretty much followed recipe to the T. Was a great way to get our New Years Black eyed peas in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cullinanpat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Excellent and easy!! Used turkey andouille sausage. Thank you for sharing. Another way to use those blackeyed peas for new years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This was delicious, and surprisingly, my kids LOVED it. I belong to a CSA, so I was able to use farm fresh black-eyed peas and okra, and substituted a small bit of bacon for the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States