Black-Eyed Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I'm not a fan of black-eyed peas, but my wife is Southern and I wanted her to fulfill her New Year's requirement. This soup is incredibly delicious. I did substitute beef broth for the water / bouillon and I left out the chilies, otherwise I stayed true to the recipe. The Ro-Tel tomatoes brought the perfect amount of heat for us. This soup is very meaty and the black-eyed peas play a supporting role, bringing a pleasant complexity to the flavor. If you really like them I think that you could easily add another can without overwhelming the soup. I made Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread to go with it. Tomorrow's leftovers will be with rice. I can hardly wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladoga, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Perfect New Year's Day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the best black eyed pea recipe I have tried. The best part is that it is so easy and quick to make! I didn't have to spend hours boiling beans and ham hocks. Only change I made was to add 3 (14.5) cans of tomatoes with chiles instead of the 2 plain/1 peppers called for. This was a big hit with all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Absolutely delish!! This is a quick and easy meal that tastes fantastic! My husband and the kids loved it. We served it with salad and corn chips. The only change I made was adding pinto beans and navy beans instead of the black-eyed peas. It is all I had on hand. Black-eyed peas are beans anyway so I can't imagine the taste would be that much different if I had used the black-eyed peas. This recipe is absolutely worth making. It is so easy and uses ingredients that many people would have on hand. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by huizhere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Delicious! The perfect comfort food for a cold winter's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Even my kids ate this and had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontonagon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Just had this dish at a friend's house for a church meal fellowship gathering. Could not stop eating it. Can't believe it is so simple yet so tasty--just my kind of comfort food. two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This turned out delicious! The family loved it and it was a fantastic way to start out the New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Awesome recipe, even approved by my picky grandson. I inadvertently left out the big can of tomatoes, but it was still great. Next time I think I'm going to add frozen okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is the third year I've made this soup for New Year's Day. My mom always told me black-eyed peas were good luck for the new year. :) This year's batch was the best ever. My 6 yr old even gobbled hers up in record time. Having heard that canned tomatoes are killing us (like most everything else we eat these days), I bought a box of chopped tomatoes. They came out more like a chunky sauce than diced tomatoes, but I guess that was just what the recipe needed because it was delicious. I froze half and still have enough for lunch for the next couple of days for me and my family. Looking forward to lunch today for sure!! :) (Note: I still used Ro-Tel. A southern girl can't live without her Ro-Tel.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Nolen Woods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States