Black-Eyed Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Awesome recipe, even approved by my picky grandson. I inadvertently left out the big can of tomatoes, but it was still great. Next time I think I'm going to add frozen okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Clair, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is the third year I've made this soup for New Year's Day. My mom always told me black-eyed peas were good luck for the new year. :) This year's batch was the best ever. My 6 yr old even gobbled hers up in record time. Having heard that canned tomatoes are killing us (like most everything else we eat these days), I bought a box of chopped tomatoes. They came out more like a chunky sauce than diced tomatoes, but I guess that was just what the recipe needed because it was delicious. I froze half and still have enough for lunch for the next couple of days for me and my family. Looking forward to lunch today for sure!! :) (Note: I still used Ro-Tel. A southern girl can't live without her Ro-Tel.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Nolen Woods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I'm not a fan of black-eyed peas, but my wife is Southern and I wanted her to fulfill her New Year's requirement. This soup is incredibly delicious. I did substitute beef broth for the water / bouillon and I left out the chilies, otherwise I stayed true to the recipe. The Ro-Tel tomatoes brought the perfect amount of heat for us. This soup is very meaty and the black-eyed peas play a supporting role, bringing a pleasant complexity to the flavor. If you really like them I think that you could easily add another can without overwhelming the soup. I made Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread to go with it. Tomorrow's leftovers will be with rice. I can hardly wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladoga, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Perfect New Year's Day meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the best black eyed pea recipe I have tried. The best part is that it is so easy and quick to make! I didn't have to spend hours boiling beans and ham hocks. Only change I made was to add 3 (14.5) cans of tomatoes with chiles instead of the 2 plain/1 peppers called for. This was a big hit with all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Absolutely delish!! This is a quick and easy meal that tastes fantastic! My husband and the kids loved it. We served it with salad and corn chips. The only change I made was adding pinto beans and navy beans instead of the black-eyed peas. It is all I had on hand. Black-eyed peas are beans anyway so I can't imagine the taste would be that much different if I had used the black-eyed peas. This recipe is absolutely worth making. It is so easy and uses ingredients that many people would have on hand. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by huizhere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Delicious! The perfect comfort food for a cold winter's night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Even my kids ate this and had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ontonagon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Just had this dish at a friend's house for a church meal fellowship gathering. Could not stop eating it. Can't believe it is so simple yet so tasty--just my kind of comfort food. two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This turned out delicious! The family loved it and it was a fantastic way to start out the New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States