Black-Eyed Pea Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
this recipe does sound easy to prepare and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I served this on New Year's Day, but substituted 2 cans of mexicorn for the rice and water and used 1/2 jar of hot salsa. One large bowl of black eyed,pea salsa was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
Normally, I don't look forward to eating black-eyed peas on New Years Day, but I tried this recipe to get rid of some stored cans of jalapeno black-eyed peas before moving, and Wow! I loved it, my husband loved it, and even our 2-year-old son ate some. And now that I'm pregnant, I'm actually having cravings for this stuff! Thanks for sharing, and especially for the *healthy* craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Bland, bland, bland. I had hopes for this recipe, but could barely eat any. The only reason it's getting this high a rating was that I was able to make a meal out of it by adding some chicken and spices instead of having to throw it out. Still looking for a good new year's b-e-p recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
I was looking for a fun way to get in the New Year's black eyed peas and this recipe is a good place to start but very, very bland as is. Here's what we added and it was a hit at our party: 1 tsp ground cumin, 1 tsp garlic powder, 2 tsp lime juice, 1/2 C finely chopped cilantro and salt to taste. It was really good. I will make it this way again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama loves to cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flatonia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I followed recipies adding only spices,cumin,minced onion, garlic powder and parsley. It came out great. Delish with or w/o chips. I think the addition of corn suggested by another reviews would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I took the advice of other reviewers and spiced it up a bit with some green salsa, chili powder, jalapenos, and lime juice. It was good and I'll be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made this last year for new years and my friends are already asking if I will make it again for our party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacherman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This was not good. I took it to a potluck and it was avoided like the plague. The rice was odd in salsa. And made the mix mushy and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Good recipe, however, If you grew up in the South you must know that you must also have ham hock or hog jowl with those peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Avocado and Black-Eyed-Pea Salsa

Make a festive, flavorful chip dip that always brings you good luck!

How to Make Rockin' Salsa

See how to make amazing homemade tomato and hot pepper salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States