Black-Eyed Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I made this with a few substitutions. I omitted the onions & parsley and instead added cilantro, lime, and 2 tsp honey. I used celery salt instead of diced celery. I also added 1 tbsp light italian dressing. And I doubled the tomatoes. Then I added 1 cup cooked baby sweet corn, about 3tsp paprika and some old bay seasoning. Tossed all ingredients together before adding the peas (which had soaked overnight and simmered for 2 hours) and served with homemade tortilla chips sprinkled with salt & nutmeg. Mmmmm! Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I made this salad for New Years in lieu of cooked black eyed peas. It was the hit of the dinner. I followed the recipe exactly. However, next time I will try using cilantro and garlic. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Very easy to make and so healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydra, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Great salad, used yellow and orange bell peppers instead of green, found it to be more mellow in taste. loved it also on top of bed of greens the next day..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
If you want to use dried black-eyed peas instead, don't be discouraged by the directions on the package. You DON'T need to soak them overnight, nor do you need to cook them for two hours. Instead, just wash two cups of dried peas thoroughly and simmer them 20 - 25 minutes, drain, and rinse with cold water. They'll be nice and firm, and tastier than canned, for half the cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Not bad, but pretty blah. Try the Mexican Bean Salad on this site - it has more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This was GREAT! I love in France, so I could not find black-eyed peas, so instead I used canned lentils, which I drained and rinsed. It was outstanding. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Wonderful, really hit the spot! I did make a "few" changes....I used two cans of black eyed peas, one can drained and one un drained. I added a can of drained green beans and some red onion. I doubled the sauce and let it marinate all day. I put a cup of the marinated beans on a bed of lettuce and had an awesome low fat salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This was really good and refreshing. I made on Sunday evening and ate with various meals throughout the week. Was nice with hamburgers. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES2JEWELS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
A new favorite with my family. Thanks so much for this recipe. My uncle who doesn't like Black Eyed Peas decided to try it and loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States