Black-Eyed Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This is a very good, colorful, nutritious salad! I followed the recipe exactly except that I used 1 extra large red pepper instead of 2 medium peppers and dried parsley instead of fresh. The flavors blend nicely together and it is very refreshing on a warm day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I love this recipe. It is super easy to make and transports well. I usually make it every time we have a BBQ to go to and I need to bring something but don't have a lot of time. It's so colorful and festive looking. Always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I made this with a few substitutions. I omitted the onions & parsley and instead added cilantro, lime, and 2 tsp honey. I used celery salt instead of diced celery. I also added 1 tbsp light italian dressing. And I doubled the tomatoes. Then I added 1 cup cooked baby sweet corn, about 3tsp paprika and some old bay seasoning. Tossed all ingredients together before adding the peas (which had soaked overnight and simmered for 2 hours) and served with homemade tortilla chips sprinkled with salt & nutmeg. Mmmmm! Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I made this salad for New Years in lieu of cooked black eyed peas. It was the hit of the dinner. I followed the recipe exactly. However, next time I will try using cilantro and garlic. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Very easy to make and so healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hydra, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Great salad, used yellow and orange bell peppers instead of green, found it to be more mellow in taste. loved it also on top of bed of greens the next day..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
If you want to use dried black-eyed peas instead, don't be discouraged by the directions on the package. You DON'T need to soak them overnight, nor do you need to cook them for two hours. Instead, just wash two cups of dried peas thoroughly and simmer them 20 - 25 minutes, drain, and rinse with cold water. They'll be nice and firm, and tastier than canned, for half the cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Not bad, but pretty blah. Try the Mexican Bean Salad on this site - it has more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This was GREAT! I love in France, so I could not find black-eyed peas, so instead I used canned lentils, which I drained and rinsed. It was outstanding. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Wonderful, really hit the spot! I did make a "few" changes....I used two cans of black eyed peas, one can drained and one un drained. I added a can of drained green beans and some red onion. I doubled the sauce and let it marinate all day. I put a cup of the marinated beans on a bed of lettuce and had an awesome low fat salad. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States