Black-Eyed Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
If you want to use dried black-eyed peas instead, don't be discouraged by the directions on the package. You DON'T need to soak them overnight, nor do you need to cook them for two hours. Instead, just wash two cups of dried peas thoroughly and simmer them 20 - 25 minutes, drain, and rinse with cold water. They'll be nice and firm, and tastier than canned, for half the cost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
206 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
AWESOME!! This is a great side dish. The ladies at my office loved it. My only problem was the recipe itself. I wasn't sure if you should drain and/or rinse the peas. Dry soaked black-eyed peas work best since they are firmer. You need to drain them. If you use black-eyed peas other than dry soaked, you need to drain and rinse them. Thanks for a great recipe Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This was a GREAT way to get in our dose of black-eyed peas on New Year's Day! I used cilantro instead of parsley (it's what I had on hand), and got rave reviews. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
INSTEAD OF THE BALSAMIC VINEGAR AND OLIVE OIL I used Marie's Vinegarette dressing,. Great recipe, I have three requests to make .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Loved this recipe. I used black eyed peas that were canned in water and drained them before adding the other ingredients. The only changes I made were to use a whole yellow onion and double the dressing ingredients. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
Pretty good.....I used a package of frozen balck-eyed peas and 3 green onions with the rest of the ingredients. I dont think that I cooked the peas enough...slightly hard. I also think that I would double the oil and vinegar. Over all...very tasty combo...served with Chili-Lime Chicken.. on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This was great! I also added some finely chopped carrot for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I brought this to a family gathering and it got lots of compliments. Very easy to make, and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Very tasty and great for you. Everyone that I have shared the recipe with has raved about the wonderful taste. Tested on kids (who asked for second helpings) to the elderly and it is a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States