Black-Eyed Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This is an awesome recipe. YUMMMY! We gobbled it down quickly and we will definitely make it again. It is such a simple, tasty salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This was a perfect New Years Day snack paired with some blue corn tortilla chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harbor Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
OK, for years my sister and I have pinched our noses while we dutifully ate one pea. Tried Hoppin' Johns and slow cooker things, still ... disgusting. I tried this recipe this year and we both took one pea, then a spoon-full, then kept right on eating. I grabbed chips and she spooned it on her salad. WONDERFUL!!! I did use cilantro and doubled the dressing ..FYI. Here's to a wonderful 2009!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I'm not usually a fan of black eyed peas, but this salad really tastes great with them. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes on hand and in our area, in the winter, they have no flavor anyway, so I used a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes, drained instead. They provided a nice smokey taste to the dish. I'm sure with fresh tomatoes the recipe would taste even better. I would definitely make this again. Would make a great dish to take to a picnic or a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I use the canned black-eyed peas with snaps for extra veggies. Drain the peas. I add finely chopped raw broccoli. I also use a high quality balsamic vinaigrette dressing to taste. Around here, it's called Oklahoma Caviar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Healthy and good - yum! If you like this you may like Texas Caviar also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hiwasse, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Very Good! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
What a nice salad! So colorful! Made exactly as it was written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This is a very good, colorful, nutritious salad! I followed the recipe exactly except that I used 1 extra large red pepper instead of 2 medium peppers and dried parsley instead of fresh. The flavors blend nicely together and it is very refreshing on a warm day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I love this recipe. It is super easy to make and transports well. I usually make it every time we have a BBQ to go to and I need to bring something but don't have a lot of time. It's so colorful and festive looking. Always a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

How to Make Grilled Eggplant Salad

Enjoy exotic northern African flavors in this grilled eggplant and pepper salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States