Black-Eyed Pea Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I made this recipe as written (except I used dried/cooked peas instead of canned), and I didn't think it was anything special. I was expecting something awesome from the reviews...I thought it was bland and was basically a bunch of things thrown together. Nothing special and missing some kind of kick of flavor. No one wanted to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I made this recipe for New Years this year, and it was a huge hit. I am not a black eyed pea fan, and I wanted to make something that actually tasted good, and this recipe delivered. I will have to throw this into my regular routine of items to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Being the frugal gal that I am, I used dry black-eyed peas and doubled the recipe. A great healthy recipe to start the new year off right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ..thru his stomach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I used fresh black eyed peas. I put everything together and let it sit overnight but it was missing something. I added a little garlic powder and it was still missing something. I didn't have salsa but perhaps it would have saved the salad. I ended up serving it with multigrain scoops. I won't make this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Great salad. You do need to store it 24 hours in the refrigerator to blend the flavors, so its best to add the chopped tomatoes shortly before serving or they become soggy overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Pretty tasty! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Nice flavors. Next time I think I would try making the Black Eyed Peas instead of using them from a can. I suspect they would have a nicer texture. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made this for a summer picnic. No one knew who made it and believe me, I was hunted down! Everyone LOVED this salad. Thanks Ladyem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Wow!! So yummy!! I couldn't stop eating it!! I used a 16oz bag of dry beans and didn't measure anything else, just put it in. I also added some carrots. Mmmmm........ Next time I will probably add some extra balsamic vinegar. It gets better the longer you keep it in the fridge so make sure not to skip out on that step. Thank you for sharing, I will be making this ALOT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Thought this salad was very fresh and delicious! I did not add tomato because I don't like it, but added some cucumber instead. I also used 1 can of black bean and 1 can of white beans because the store was out of black-eyed peas. Really loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States