Black-Eyed Pea Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Totally great recipe. This is the first one I've tried on this site that I didn't tweak, I made it exactly as written. It was really yummy!! I would suggest to everyone to do it the night before you are serving it because the flavors really come together overnight. Thanks for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Easy and great! I make this on a regular basis. It has so much flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I love beans of any kind, but my family doesn't like them. I am always looking for ways to prepare beans that are simple and quick to prepare and easy to scale down to a serving or two. This fit the bill. I had to make a couple of substitutions as I made this spur of the moment and did not have a couple of the ingredients on hand...It was still yummy (I'm sure I would like it better as written:) I halved the recipe and used 1/2 can diced tomatoes instead of sun-dried because that is what I had. I used white onion instead of red and I had no feta so I substituted an Italian cheese blend. I ate this for lunch today with some rye crackers-Yummy and Filling. I cannot wait to go to the store and get some sun-dried tomatoes and feta (both which I LOVE) and try this again!!! Thanks for lunch:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great! I use a this recipe as a New Year's salsa type dip to serve for good luck. I use Frito Scoops and everyone seems to love it - and it brings plenty of good luck and good health in the New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Ohhhh...this was very good and very refreshing. I think I prefer eating black eye peas this way than the traditional way. The sun dried tomotoes really set it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I can't believe how good this was. I am not a fan of the traditional black eyed pea, so this recipe appealed to me. I honestly thought it would be one of those items that sits on the table out of obligation (New Year's Day), but it literally was inhaled by everyone. I loved it. I improvised the dressing because I had a balsamic dressing on hand, but I did add the dijon and the honey. I made it a day ahead and refrigerated it overnight and it was wonderful. It got rave reviews from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I had a package of steamed black-eyed peas that I didn't know what to do with, so I gave this recipe a try. It was delicious! I cut the recipe in half since I'm single, but I still used 1/2 an onion as 1/4 of an onion just wasn't enough. All the other ingredients I just cut in half. I also used oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, so I drained and chopped them without pouring the boiling water, since they were already quite soft. I used fat-free feta cheese to cut the calories a bit. Altogether this was a fantastic high-protein and very nutritious salad. Would be great for a light lunch or supper in the summertime, and for potlucks, especially if there are vegetarians. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
What a nice surprise! It was one of those last minute cookouts when I went through my pantry and found all I had was a couple cans of black-eyed peas. Found this recipe and it was an absolute hit! A real keeper. Everyone loved it...even those that don't like black-eyed peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is such a great recipe! I use fresh tomatoes, also drained whole kernal corn. Chopped fresh jalapeno adds flavor too. You can use Italian dressing if that sounds better to you. Easy recipe to customize and perfect if black eyed peas aren't your favorites. I think almost any fresh veggies would work in it. Make a day or two in advance if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Sounds like good salad! They do many similar salads like this in the Mediterranean, using white beans, pinto beans, black-eyed peas and even mung beans, almost the same as this but minus the cheese and usually fresh instead of dried tomato. But why not both... (The mung bean one is also really nicece, give it a try; you can substitute lemon juice for the vinegar too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States