Black-Eyed Pea Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
What a nice surprise! It was one of those last minute cookouts when I went through my pantry and found all I had was a couple cans of black-eyed peas. Found this recipe and it was an absolute hit! A real keeper. Everyone loved it...even those that don't like black-eyed peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I had a package of steamed black-eyed peas that I didn't know what to do with, so I gave this recipe a try. It was delicious! I cut the recipe in half since I'm single, but I still used 1/2 an onion as 1/4 of an onion just wasn't enough. All the other ingredients I just cut in half. I also used oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, so I drained and chopped them without pouring the boiling water, since they were already quite soft. I used fat-free feta cheese to cut the calories a bit. Altogether this was a fantastic high-protein and very nutritious salad. Would be great for a light lunch or supper in the summertime, and for potlucks, especially if there are vegetarians. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I can't believe how good this was. I am not a fan of the traditional black eyed pea, so this recipe appealed to me. I honestly thought it would be one of those items that sits on the table out of obligation (New Year's Day), but it literally was inhaled by everyone. I loved it. I improvised the dressing because I had a balsamic dressing on hand, but I did add the dijon and the honey. I made it a day ahead and refrigerated it overnight and it was wonderful. It got rave reviews from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Ohhhh...this was very good and very refreshing. I think I prefer eating black eye peas this way than the traditional way. The sun dried tomotoes really set it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great! I use a this recipe as a New Year's salsa type dip to serve for good luck. I use Frito Scoops and everyone seems to love it - and it brings plenty of good luck and good health in the New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Totally great recipe. This is the first one I've tried on this site that I didn't tweak, I made it exactly as written. It was really yummy!! I would suggest to everyone to do it the night before you are serving it because the flavors really come together overnight. Thanks for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Easy way for Black-Eye Pea Salad is to just get you a jar of salsa and mix to your own consistency and let sit in refrigerator for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
lovedddd it. What else can I say?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I made this exactly as written and it is excellent, letting it marinade in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Great recipe! I don't eat onions (heartburn), so I added red peppers to make it colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States