Black-Eyed Pea Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
What a nice surprise! It was one of those last minute cookouts when I went through my pantry and found all I had was a couple cans of black-eyed peas. Found this recipe and it was an absolute hit! A real keeper. Everyone loved it...even those that don't like black-eyed peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I had a package of steamed black-eyed peas that I didn't know what to do with, so I gave this recipe a try. It was delicious! I cut the recipe in half since I'm single, but I still used 1/2 an onion as 1/4 of an onion just wasn't enough. All the other ingredients I just cut in half. I also used oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes, so I drained and chopped them without pouring the boiling water, since they were already quite soft. I used fat-free feta cheese to cut the calories a bit. Altogether this was a fantastic high-protein and very nutritious salad. Would be great for a light lunch or supper in the summertime, and for potlucks, especially if there are vegetarians. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I can't believe how good this was. I am not a fan of the traditional black eyed pea, so this recipe appealed to me. I honestly thought it would be one of those items that sits on the table out of obligation (New Year's Day), but it literally was inhaled by everyone. I loved it. I improvised the dressing because I had a balsamic dressing on hand, but I did add the dijon and the honey. I made it a day ahead and refrigerated it overnight and it was wonderful. It got rave reviews from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Ohhhh...this was very good and very refreshing. I think I prefer eating black eye peas this way than the traditional way. The sun dried tomotoes really set it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great! I use a this recipe as a New Year's salsa type dip to serve for good luck. I use Frito Scoops and everyone seems to love it - and it brings plenty of good luck and good health in the New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Totally great recipe. This is the first one I've tried on this site that I didn't tweak, I made it exactly as written. It was really yummy!! I would suggest to everyone to do it the night before you are serving it because the flavors really come together overnight. Thanks for submitting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Easy way for Black-Eye Pea Salad is to just get you a jar of salsa and mix to your own consistency and let sit in refrigerator for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
lovedddd it. What else can I say?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I made this exactly as written and it is excellent, letting it marinade in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Great recipe! I don't eat onions (heartburn), so I added red peppers to make it colorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States