Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
OMG! I added a generous sprinkle of cajun seasoning, a squirt of hot sauce and some smoked sausage, and it was absolutely delicious. Served it with cornbread, which absolutely put it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I make this alot in the winter for my family. Only difference from the original recipe is that I use dry black eyed peas, that is soaked overnight, and add either a spicy Italian or bulk sausage, or some cubed ham, and a splash of liquid smoke. Fix up a castiron skillet of homemade cornbread and you got a meal! This will be a part of our New Year's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This gumbo is excellent. The flavor is perfect without all the spices other reviewers felt they needed to add. I did use two cans of rotel tomatoes (instead of one rotel, one regular diced tomatoes) and omitted the celery (not a fan). I added carrots for color. I also cooked it at very low heat for much longer than recipe indicated, which may have accounted for the rich flavor. This was a big hit....served with corn bread as suggested. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitefish Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This is a great wintertime dish. I prepared this dish for a family function that I was hosting. It was delicious. Everyone loved it. I added 3 cans of black-eyed peas instead of 4. I also added creole seasoning, salt and pepper, beef smoked sausages (cut into bite sized pieces) and a cup of cooked pasta to the recipe. I forgot to add the green peppers but it didn't matter because it was great without it. My husband advised me that this is a "keeper." Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe. We will enjoy it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Wow! This was good. And healthy, which is always nice. I only added the can of tomatoes with jalapenos, not the plain can of tomatos. Instead, I added a box of frozen okra. I also added a tablespoon of creole seasoning mix (from this website) and some salt. Also about 2 cups of extra water. Mmm, mmm, good! I served it with Texas Spoonbread (yet another recipe from this site). We will definitely be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
As is, this recipe is very bland and that's even after we added a ham hock during the cooking. However, once we added Tabasco, Worcestershire sauce, and salt it was pretty good. Definitely needs additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I am always looking for healthy recipes that my 3 and 5 year olds, my husband, and I will like, and this was a hit for all! I did add turkey kielbasa a the end, and next time, I will not cook the onion, celery, and peppers with the rice (they got too mushy). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This recipe is definitely easy and delicious. We like it a little less spicy, so I used more regular diced tomatoes in place of the tomatoes with chilies, and added chili powder to spice it up to where we wanted it. We loved the rice in it, and it was great with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Good, but I had to add spices-- I added 2 tsp of Creole seasoning and 1 tsp of cayenne, but that was too much cayenne, so if I were to do it again, I'd do half. I had some dried black eyed peas to use instead, so I soaked them for 4 hours and then simmered them for around 45 minutes before making the gumbo. Since I didn't have the liquid from the cans to use, I doubled the chicken broth. The end result was seriously spicy, but filling and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Fantastic recipe. I needed to make several subsitutions: 1. Could not find canned black eyed peas so I used a 1lb bag of dried beans boiled in 6.5 cups of water until tender (about 45 minutes). It turns out to be about 3 cans worth, so I added 2 cups of frozen sweet corn in lieu of the fourth can (for great flavor and texture too). 2. Like other people mentioned, this recipe came out too thick, thicker than most chili's I've had. Instead of all the diced tomatoes, I used a 28oz can of crushed tomatoes. In addition, I wound up adding about 2 cups of extra liquid (beef broth is what I had) to thin the gumbo out just a little. 3. Forgot to buy celery so I omitted that, I used 3 cloves of garlic because you can never have enough, and I used barley instead of brown rice (great texture!). 4. Finally, I added about 1 Tbsp of hot pepper sauce (Sriracha is my favorite) which added a ton of flavor and just a touch of spice. I then add a few dashes to each bowl I eat since I can handle more spice. Otherwise, this recipe made a ton of food! Make sure you have some freezer space or plan to eat it for a few nights. An excellent nutritious and filling meal served with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.PeanutButterBoy.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 384) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States