Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This was fantastic! I added fresh, sliced mushrooms and a dose of cayenne pepper to mine. Also, I used white rice as they were out of brown rice at the deli. That may explain why mine cooked in only 20 or so minutes instead of 45. It was just about to burn on the bottom of the pan when I rescued it with a little more water, but the rice was nice and soft so it was definitely done cooking. I had cornbread alongside the steaming bowl of gumbo and it was a fine start to 2005. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Great recipe! Made exactly by the recipe, and it was delicious - and easy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLA IN BETHANY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
What an easy, healthy recipe. I served it with cornbread, as well, and the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This was very simple, fast and DELICIOUS. I used the extra hot tomatoes and chilis and it had quite the kick. Topped it with a bit of sour cream. Rave reviews all around. I let it simmer longer than called for and had to add a bit of water. Definately a keeper and will be made again. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Good, but I had to add spices-- I added 2 tsp of Creole seasoning and 1 tsp of cayenne, but that was too much cayenne, so if I were to do it again, I'd do half. I had some dried black eyed peas to use instead, so I soaked them for 4 hours and then simmered them for around 45 minutes before making the gumbo. Since I didn't have the liquid from the cans to use, I doubled the chicken broth. The end result was seriously spicy, but filling and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This recipe is definitely easy and delicious. We like it a little less spicy, so I used more regular diced tomatoes in place of the tomatoes with chilies, and added chili powder to spice it up to where we wanted it. We loved the rice in it, and it was great with cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I found this very bland, but my husband liked it a lot. Very easy to make but needs an extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
This was delicious! I added sausage to my husbands bowl and he just raved about how great this was! Will definitely make again. Also, I added about 1 tsp. of Creole seasoning to spice it up. But I think it would have been good without as well. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8K8VT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Loved this gumbo. We did add some sausage to complete the meal. Some liked it spicier so we kept hot sauce on the table to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
As is, this recipe is very bland and that's even after we added a ham hock during the cooking. However, once we added Tabasco, Worcestershire sauce, and salt it was pretty good. Definitely needs additional spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States