Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Delicious! We all liked. Easy. I added a couple more cloves of garlic then it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Delicious and easy. I added some smoked turkey sausage and a bit more chicken broth and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gnome

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Great meal;I prepared it for group of about 20 mostly college age folks & they devoured it. I used Conenech smoked sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunniedm
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Made this last night. Gave 4 stars because I changed according to reviews I thought we'd like. Hubby liked and said to keep since it tasted similar to his ham & navy bean soup. This would be good with the addition of ham or sausage by the way. Our second bowl we added a little ketchup over it as he suggested and it really did give it something extra. Good recipe for adding fiber to your diet. I used 1# dried beans I soaked overnight so per reviews I used 4C (whole box) chicken broth. Used 2 cans Rotel Original rather 2 cans of diced in recipe. I added 1t Creole Seasoning and 1/2t cayenne pepper as suggested. I brought to a boil then cooked on low for 1 hour. Hubby wants cornbread with the leftovers!! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunniedm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Absolutely wonderful gumbo. Followed as written just added Tobasco at the end. It gets better the next day as the rice and veggies get softer and the flavors settle. It makes a lot but we made it meatless, pretty figure friendly. My boyfriend said he wants me to make it again in the future and add scotch bonnets for heat. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBYCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Loved this! I used vegetable broth to make it vegan. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Thanks for the great recipe! I'm just an amature cook, but I made this and everyone who tried it thinks I'm a chef! Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Bolte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Made this for a tailgate in NY in January. Perfect winter food. I added some hot sauce, cajun seasoning and andouille sausage. Rave reviews from my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
My family loved it. I made a few minor changes. I put sliced and quartered pieces of kielbsa when I cooked the veggies. I also put my garlic in part way through cooking my veggies. I am considering using bacon grease instead of olive oil; as alot of southern cooks do, the next time I make this. I used Rotel tomatoes for the 10 ounce can. I served it with corn bread too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This is great recipe for anytime. All I did was add bratwurst sliced and browned on both sides and I recieved raves from my husband and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States