Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This had a great flavor. I would recommend cutting the black eyed peas in half when making with the rice. It's alot of starch. I'll definitley make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Very good and healthy. I did not have celery and had a half a head of green cabbage so I used that instead, and a red pepper instead of a green one. Also threw in some bulk hot Italian sausage at the start. I only gave it 4 stars because it did not reheat well - got kind of mushy as leftovers. I will make it again but not plan to have a lot left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Following tradition, I made this for New Years Day for my Kids and Husband. They usually never eat Black-eyed Peas. They loved it! I changed slightly by adding a can of corn and smoked turkey. This recipe will be a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I added two pkgs of smoked sausage and a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce. Yum! Even my picky daughter liked it, though she thought it was spicy. (I'm assuming from the green chilies in the tomatoes.) My hubby and boys added hot sauce and pepper to theirs. I think a few teaspoons of bacon bits next time will really kick it into overdrive. Oh, I also used a 16oz. bag of frozen black eyed peas, long grain white rice instead of the brown, and threw it all in the crockpot on low before I went to work. Outstanding and it only took me 10 minutes to assemble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This dish is sooo good. I added some uncle johns sausage. I like mild but you could use hot. I cut them on angles and cooked them separate. I removed as much grease as possible with a paper towel than added to gumbo. Sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Wonderful! I used dry black-eyed peas. First I put a smoked shank in my crock pot and cook it most of the day until it falls off the bone. I then wash and soak the black-eyed peas all night so it's ready to cook the next day. I turn on the crockpot and cook the peas and shank for a couple hours, I then take out the shank and bones and discard the bones and fat. I put the meat back in along with kilbasa sausage, browned onion, celery, green pepper and garlic. I added chicken broth granuals, 1 can diced tomatoes. I then added a little cajun seasoning called 'Slap Ya Mama' along with a little pepper. I made white rice on the side to add in as desired. The entire crockpot was gone in a couple hours. When I first told my family what I was making they thought it sounded nasty but they are already asking when I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I tried this and it took Black-Eyed Peas to a whole new dimension! Great for giving those Peas a "makeover" and bring back the romance with this vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSIE811

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I made this the other day and loved it(so did My husband). The only change I made, actually an addition, was sauteeing some sliced smoked chicken and apple sausage and adding it to the gumbo. Very tasty dish and full of nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I normally follow the recipe exactly as provided ... but I did not use the liquid from the beans, added an extra cup of chicken broth, and didn't add the tomatoes with chilies and served with shredded cheese. A friend who doesn't even like black-eyed peas LOVED it! i think whatever tweaks you make will probably be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I scaled and down to 3 and rounded things up and down a little to use whole tins, so less beans more tomato - i had to use a jalapeno sauce in place of green chills in tomatoes but it tasted great all the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Firehouse Cajun Gumbo

See how they make Cajun-style gumbo down at the firehouse.

Sausage and Shrimp Gumbo

See what smoked sausage can do for a savory, spicy Cajun classic.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States