Black-Eyed Pea Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This first time gumbo eater was well pleased. Next time i will remember to scale down. Followed exactly and made enough for my family of four for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslove

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
UPDATE: I made this again using two cans of rotel (one hot rotel,) and a little cayenne pepper and it was too hot to eat! Don't do this! Still love this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I am a football caoch and this is the best meal an athelete could eat before a game! complex carbs and I add smoked sausage and shrimp to it for an additional portein base. all of the mom's and players love it! Thanks for the inspiration! mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I added okra in place of some of the celery, and added some extra peas (I used dried ones instead of canned). You might want to up the seasoning some, but that depends on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Without the 1 tsp. of cajun seasoning, it would have been bland. However, with the seasoning and some added German sausage, it was fantastic. Only gave it 3 stars because I had made some modifications based on other reviewers' suggestions. Also used frozen black eyed peas instead of canned and they were great. Lastly, used already-cooked leftover brown rice and added it at the end which saved a lot of time. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathertup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I was surprised with how much flavor there was in this with a lack of seasonings. I did double the garlic because that is something I tend to do, but my other can of tomatoes was fire roasted with chiles and that might have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This was really good. I added 2 tbs of cajun seasoning, veggie broth, some cayenne, and a little liquid smoke. I didn't have the chile peppers. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Excellent recipe. I had a friend who asked me to bring the black-eyed peas to their New Years Day gathering, so of course, I came to Allrecipes for ideas and settled on this one. I'm pretty much a "recipe follower", but always read a lot of these reviews and based on that, I decided to add some Kielbasa sausage and a few shakes of Cajun Seasoning from this site...the latter since one of the hosts is from N'Orleans. To let the flavors incorporate, I prepared this the day before. It was a big hit. The next day, the hostess called and said these were the best black eyed peas she's had...except for her mother's. Being the good daughter that she is, I think she felt obligated to say that last part! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Very good. I used Jamine rice and topped it with a dollop of sour cream and shredded pepper jack/with red/green jalapenoes cheese. Serve with cornbread for a hearty Sunday football fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn Freant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I made this for new years day because of the great reviews. I found it to be a little bland. So the second day I spiced it up a bit more with a little liquid smoke and a some chopped jalepenos. So as written I only give it a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States